Join Early Retirement Today

The Liberals' War
Old 09-14-2006, 07:46 PM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

The Liberals' War

Recently some of us got into a brief debate on the forum here regarding pacifism in the face of terrorism, and it resonated at this five year anniversary of 9/11/01.* Then, this opinion appears in the WSJ, and it articulates the situation so well.* Our existing, and likely increasing war against terror and radical Islam is not necessarily synonomous with the war in Iraq ...

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1158...N=wsjie/6month

GLOBAL VIEW
By BRET STEPHENS

The Liberals' War
September 12, 2006; Page A21

"When I was 19, I moved to New York City. . . . If you had asked me to describe myself then, I would have told you I was a musician, an artist and, on a somewhat political level, a woman, a lesbian and a Jew. Being an American wouldn't have made my list. On Sept. 11, all that changed. I realized that I had been taking the freedoms I have here for granted. Now I have an American flag on my backpack, I cheer at the fighter jets as they pass overhead and I am calling myself a patriot."

-- Rachel Newman, "My Turn" in Newsweek, Oct. 21, 2001

Here's a puzzle: Why is it so frequently the case that the people who have the most at stake in the battle against Islamic extremism and the most to lose when Islamism gains -- namely, liberals -- are typically the most reluctant to fight it?

It is often said, particularly in the "progressive" precincts of the democratic left, that by aiming at the Pentagon, the World Trade Center and perhaps the Capitol, Mohammed Atta and his cohorts were registering a broader Muslim objection to what those buildings supposedly represented: capitalism and globalization, U.S. military power, support for Israel, oppression of the Palestinians and so on.