Join Early Retirement Today
Closed Thread

The straw that broke the camels back...
Old 07-22-2016, 04:19 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

It started with...
1) We had a bad rain storm... that rain was blowing sideways with black clouds and wicked thunder. The next day Mrs Ray: "Ray come here for a minute" - always bad news. The stain on the ceiling she showed me means that the problem with the new roof hadn't been fixed.

2) The project I am working on (I am a developer) has been going poorly. I subsequently learned that I hadn't been given all the data: My partner in the venture hasn't been carrying her weight. My boss knows this and has spoken to both her and her superior.

3) Friday (today) I normally work from home but today I went in late to talk to the boss and show I'm really trying to get the work done. Half the way there I realize my parking access card is in my old CRV with my son (17) who's working the 9AM-1PM shift. Today he is chasing carts. He's been working at a local supermarket for a couple of weeks now. I turn around, drive there and arrive around 9:45. I spy my car in the lot and drive over. I get out and immediately notice the car is running - I think what? I then see my son sitting in the front seat with the seat back, air conditioning blasting with a towel over his face... I sense I am going to lose it in public... I tell him give me my access card and don't ever let me catch you... (You get the drift) and drive off. My blood pressure no doubt is spiking and I am angry... I call the wife on the speaker phone and tell her what our son was doing (A major vent session).. Later he shows no evidence of being contrite and managed to anger her further. She tossed him out of the house for a couple of hours. I come home and he's full of excuses; I wasn't having any of it --I suggest he retire to his bedroom.