Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
The survey says...
Old 07-29-2011, 02:07 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 44,271
The survey says...

What browser are you using?

Internet Explorer 6 users have low IQs, study says
__________________

__________________
Numbers is hard

Charter resident of the lumpen slums of cyberspace

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-29-2011, 02:30 PM   #2
Administrator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee ba gum
Posts: 22,851
IE9 - probably means I have a low IQ for upgrading too soon.
__________________

__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55, moved to England in May 2016
Enough private pension and SS income to cover all needs
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 02:34 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Purron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5,590
8. Been waiting to updrade to 9. Like to give it a while first.
__________________
I purr therefore I am.
Purron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 02:45 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11,227
Over the years, I have moved from IE to Firefox to Safari. My willingness to embrace change denotes a higher IQ according to this study. It is of course no surprise to me because this "scientific" study had already established my superior intelligence:

It is finally proven: Apple users are more intelligent than PC users | Intelligent Elite

Quote:
Who is an Apple user? [...] Often working in creative and professional fields, these people tend to have higher-than-average intelligence.
Now on to solving the debt ceiling issue...

FIREd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 02:47 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Midpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 12,842
I'm on IE9, but it's a little buggier than IE8 was (hesitates refreshing screens), so Purron is probably the smart money here. Highest IQ is probably using the version just prior to the latest.
__________________
No one agrees with other people's opinions; they merely agree with their own opinions -- expressed by somebody else. Sydney Tremayne
Retired Jun 2011 at age 57

Target AA: 60% equity funds / 35% bond funds / 5% cash
Target WR: Approx 2.5% Approx 20% SI (secure income, SS only)
Midpack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 02:48 PM   #6
Dryer sheet wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 10
Mozilla Firefox
Grandlakeokie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 02:51 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
MasterBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,359
Y do u thk That jst cuz we UZe Explore 6 I am Dum ?
MasterBlaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 03:03 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
donheff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 8,939
Firefox for me. I have tried Chrome but like FF more.
__________________
Every man is, or hopes to be, an Idler. -- Samuel Johnson
donheff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 03:08 PM   #9
 
Posts: n/a
IE8. I've tried using Firefox a few times but always had some sort of trouble with it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 03:19 PM   #10
Moderator
samclem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12,781
Now using Firefox, it's working great.

Re: Intelligence. Well, formerly I ran a browser I designed myself one weekend running on top of an OS I designed the week prior. Yes, super fast, never a bug, immune to viruses, hardware independent. No typing, it performed searches based on detected user thought patterns. But, I missed the camaraderie and fellowship that the shared Windoze "experience" brings to fellow sufferers, so I ditched all that.

A. Huxley never told us how lonely life as an Alpha might be . . .better to be among the masses.
samclem is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 03:25 PM   #11
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,779
Chrome exclusively, but used Firefox before Chrome. I did have an experience where I couldn't update firmware for a router in Chrome.

Whats with that?
grasshopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 04:00 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
Rich_by_the_Bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 8,827
Firefox for me. Almost flawless for past 8 years or so.
__________________
Rich
San Francisco Area
ESR'd March 2010. FIRE'd January 2011.

As if you didn't know..If the above message contains medical content, it's NOT intended as advice, and may not be accurate, applicable or sufficient. Don't rely on it for any purpose. Consult your own doctor for all medical advice.
Rich_by_the_Bay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 04:25 PM   #13
Administrator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Home Sweet Home
Posts: 27,128
My primary browser is Firefox, but I use IE8 and Chrome as well for some news. Websites that erect paywalls, such as NYT, track usage by browser, so when my free use quota is filled with FF I just switch to IE, etc. There are still a couple of websites that need IE for full functionality.
MichaelB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 04:32 PM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,157
My IQ must be really low. I don't even know which version i'm using or how to find out. I do use IE, just don't know which one. Tried Google Chrome and Firwfox but prefer IE.
aaronc879 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 04:54 PM   #15
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
ls99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,847
FF 5.0. Had to look it up.

Not sure of IQ. Had a an Army GT score of 135 in 1967, whatever that means. Could barely speaka da English.
__________________
There must be moderation in everything, including moderation.
ls99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 05:01 PM   #16
Moderator Emeritus
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 40,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan View Post
IE9 - probably means I have a low IQ for upgrading too soon.
My new Dell laptop came with IE9, and I have no issues with it so that is what I use at home as well.

When I am over at F.'s house, like right now, I use a POS spare computer of his that runs IE8.
__________________
100% retired since 2009 and never plan to work for anybody ever again, paid or not. Retirement funded by Social Security, mini-pension, and investments (AA 45:55, mostly Vanguard). Debt free with no mortgage and over-the-moon happy to be retired.
W2R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 05:08 PM   #17
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Dawg52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central MS/Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 7,936
Chrome. Seems faster to me.
__________________
Retired 3/31/2007@52
Full time wuss.......
Dawg52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 05:10 PM   #18
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronc879 View Post
My IQ must be really low. I don't even know which version i'm using or how to find out. I do use IE, just don't know which one. Tried Google Chrome and Firwfox but prefer IE.
Took over 30 minutes but I figured out i'm using IE 8. No plans to change.
aaronc879 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2011, 05:11 PM   #19
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Nodak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cavalier
Posts: 2,317
Firefox and sometimes Mozilla SeaMonkey
__________________
"Don't take life so serious, son. It ain't nohow permanent." Pogo Possum (Walt Kelly)
Nodak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 05:08 AM   #20
Moderator Emeritus
Ronstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: A little ways southwest of Chicago
Posts: 10,214
Safari
__________________

Ronstar is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.