Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Time Warner Cable and Comcast Internet Modem Fees
Old 08-24-2013, 12:05 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 104
Time Warner Cable and Comcast Internet Modem Fees

So with Time Warner and Comcast charging a monthly fee for a cable Internet modem have you purchased a cable modem or are you panning on buying one soon?

I purchased one and it works great. The payback for me is 10 months.
__________________

__________________
gbstack is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-24-2013, 02:45 PM   #2
Full time employment: Posting here.
SumDay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 799
Nope, we probably have to have ours replaced once a year. If I rent from them, they have to come diagnose and then replace. We're hard on electronics around here.
__________________

__________________
SumDay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 02:47 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
frayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: 19th Hole
Posts: 2,534
I have always owned my modems and routers, no brainer in my way of thinking.
__________________
A totally unblemished life is only for saints.
frayne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 02:50 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,878
Had for years free from cable company, they started charging monthly fee for it. I bought off ebay for a few bucks.
__________________
rbmrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 03:06 PM   #5
Full time employment: Posting here.
ER Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 721
Yeah, I've always used my own modem.
__________________
ER Eddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 03:40 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Dawg52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central MS/Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 7,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmrtn View Post
Had for years free from cable company, they started charging monthly fee for it. I bought off ebay for a few bucks.
I just converted to Comcast internet and decided to rent their box for now. I'm not a tech person and wanted to use all their stuff while I was getting up and running. They said I could return it anytime if I decided to buy my own box. It was easy to get up and going and didn't require calling Comcast's tech support, thank God.

Might have to look into buying one. At $7/mo for rental, you can pay for one in just a few months as others have said.
__________________
Retired 3/31/2007@52
Full time wuss.......
Dawg52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 04:03 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,878
It's fairly easy to replace the cable modem. Just get one compatible with their system. Take the new one to them, they record the MAC address off the modem, put in their database and enable. You take it home and swap it out. They take advantage charging maintenance fee for something essentially never breaks. ( unless it get fried electrically ).
__________________

__________________
rbmrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:02 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.