Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Ugh...DD in two accidents in a week.
Old 06-05-2018, 02:36 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Ugh...DD in two accidents in a week.

20 years old. 1st accident was technically not her fault but inconclusive. Word of a 20 yo compared to a 50+ yo. 2nd accident was 100% her fault...rear-ended a car into another car in traffic.

Anyways, I have no experience with this. I'm nervous about my insurance company getting wind of both accidents. I'm still trying to get a copy of the police report from the first accident so I can contact that driver before he calls my company. I'm planning to suggest that we each pay our own damage. If he balks, I may offer him some additional money to go away.

I'm guessing that the 2nd accident will need to go through insurance because the damage is more extensive...newer cars too. If I remember right premiums go up 20% for each accident/ticket. Is that still the going rate? She doesn't think there will be any injury claims from accident 2 but I'm not ruling it out.

What else should I be worried about? Any suggestions?
Ready2Go is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!