Join Early Retirement Today

US Patent Process
Old 01-15-2010, 09:57 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

US Patent Process

So I've been kicking an idea around for a couple months ... patent seach shows a couple non-provisional patents have been awarded which are related. But they are way too complicated and in need of operability improvements (IMHO). So I am cold calling patent lawyers to see if this worth pursuing.

Any "war stories" out there related to patents? Sucess and/or failures are always interesting.
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-15-2010, 10:06 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Not a patent expert yet, but I'm sitting for the Patent Bar Exam in 2 weeks.

You can usually pay an attorney for the preliminary work of researching and giving an opinion on patentability.