Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Vonage - Router Question
Old 04-01-2006, 08:07 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
cube_rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,466
Vonage - Router Question

I currently have a Netgear router. When I went to sign up for Vonage, I clicked on a page which asked me to "choose my device", all Linksysby the way. Will I have to buy their router? Sorry, the web-site isn't very intuitive. Maybe it's me at 6am
__________________

__________________
fuzzy? cute?
cube_rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Re: Vonage - Router Question
Old 04-01-2006, 09:31 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
Re: Vonage - Router Question

You either buy their router with integrated telephone adapter, or you can get the (usually free after rebate, then rebonkered by shipping costs and activation fees) basic rtp300.

If your netgear router supports QOS (quality of service), you can put the vonage box behind the router with your other stuff. If it doesnt, you'll want to put the vonage box between your router/dsl modem and the existing router. Where it may not work, but if it does, it can prioritize your voice traffic. And also stunt off your data traffic flow enough that you'll be happy to sit around for a week waiting for vonage customer support to call you back and adjust the parameters of the box for better balance.

Or put it behind your router and get occasionally choppy phone calls when using the 'net along with a phone call.
__________________

__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Vonage - Router Question
Old 04-01-2006, 01:07 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
cube_rat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,466
Re: Vonage - Router Question

Thanks CFB for answering my question.
__________________
fuzzy? cute?
cube_rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Vonage - Router Question
Old 04-01-2006, 02:09 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
Re: Vonage - Router Question

No extra charge for the editorialization.

Before you go through the whole order shenanigans, be advised of the $10 shipping charge and the $30 activation fee they dont mention until just before you submit your order.

There are a bunch of codes to get the wireless linksys router for cheap, waive the activation fee, or get a free month, but it seemed like every one of them increases a price somewhere else, so there doesnt appear to be a free lunch.
__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm done with phone company - time for Vonage? justin Other topics 23 03-28-2007 10:46 AM
How to answer questions. ???With a question or assignment????? dex Forum Admin 2 02-25-2007 08:56 AM
Vonage IPO Cool Dood FIRE and Money 4 05-17-2006 05:40 PM
Need help with router installation... Gonzo Other topics 30 03-25-2006 04:19 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:14 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.