Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-19-2007, 04:50 PM   #21
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
martyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bossier City
Posts: 2,182
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

SuddenLink cable (was Cox Communications) and IE 6.0. I installed IE 7 & didn't like it, so I went back to IE 6.
__________________

__________________
“Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future.”
-John F. Kennedy

“Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?” - Edgar Bergen
martyb is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-19-2007, 04:53 PM   #22
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,316
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

Verizon DSL, Firefox, and sometimes IE and AOL
__________________

__________________
Corporateburnout is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-19-2007, 06:18 PM   #23
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Bay
Posts: 1,026
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

Earthlink DSL
Firefox
__________________
scrinch is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-19-2007, 07:58 PM   #24
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Goonie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North-Central Illinois
Posts: 3,198
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

Earthlink DSL (6.0 Mbps)

Firefox (ocassionally HAVE to use IE, because some website isn't designed for anything else)
__________________
Goonie is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-19-2007, 11:07 PM   #25
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 16,453
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

Verizon Broadband or National Access (depending on location). This is a mobile/cellular internet.

Safari

Audrey
__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-19-2007, 11:48 PM   #26
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles area
Posts: 1,432
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

Charter cable
Firefox

Yes, firefox is that good. The free AdBlock Plus/FilterSet.G tool
alone makes browsing worthwhile again.
__________________
learn, work, save, invest, fire
CyclingInvestor is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-20-2007, 10:56 PM   #27
Recycles dryer sheets
just_hatched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 90
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goonie
Earthlink DSL (6.0 Mbps)

Firefox (ocassionally HAVE to use IE, because some website isn't designed for anything else)
There is a Firefox add-in called "IE tab" that allows you to switch to render the page
as Internet Explorer would render it, all from within Firefox.

I've had pretty good luck with it when a page doesn't like Firefox.
I just hit a button in Firefox to switch the page to IE.
__________________
just_hatched is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-20-2007, 11:18 PM   #28
Recycles dryer sheets
Bram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 214
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

ATT Yahoo DSL & Firefox
I have a yahoo email account & a free Eudora email
__________________
.
.

Every step of the journey is the journey.
Bram is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-21-2007, 06:32 AM   #29
Recycles dryer sheets
boots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 55
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

Road Runner
Intergate.com DUN backup
Fire Fox
__________________
Money makes money and the money that makes money makes more money
-Benjamin Franklin-
boots is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-21-2007, 08:58 AM   #30
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,316
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

Quote:
Originally Posted by just_hatched
There is a Firefox add-in called "IE tab" that allows you to switch to render the page
as Internet Explorer would render it, all from within Firefox.

I've had pretty good luck with it when a page doesn't like Firefox.
I just hit a button in Firefox to switch the page to IE.
How do you get this add-in? I have had some problems with certain sites using firefox.
__________________
Corporateburnout is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-21-2007, 12:12 PM   #31
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Goonie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North-Central Illinois
Posts: 3,198
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corporateburnout
How do you get this add-in? I have had some problems with certain sites using firefox.
Corp,

I looked for it, and found it here:

https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/1419/

goonie
__________________
Goonie is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-21-2007, 01:28 PM   #32
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,316
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goonie
Corp,

I looked for it, and found it here:

https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/1419/

goonie
Thanks Goonie, it works great .

I have to play around with the settings to figure out how to display the icon on the toolbar for easy switching between browsers.
__________________
Corporateburnout is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-21-2007, 02:01 PM   #33
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
donheff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 8,634
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

Quote:
Originally Posted by just_hatched
There is a Firefox add-in called "IE tab" that allows you to switch to render the page
as Internet Explorer would render it, all from within Firefox.

I've had pretty good luck with it when a page doesn't like Firefox.
I just hit a button in Firefox to switch the page to IE.
I use IR tab also. It must use the IE engine to render the page so all the security issues of IE apply when using the tab.
__________________
Every man is, or hopes to be, an Idler. -- Samuel Johnson
donheff is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-21-2007, 10:29 PM   #34
Recycles dryer sheets
just_hatched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 90
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corporateburnout
I have to play around with the settings to figure out how to display the icon on the toolbar for easy switching between browsers.
The button shows up for me at the lower right corner of the firefox window.
__________________
just_hatched is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-22-2007, 01:33 AM   #35
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
BigMoneyJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: DFW
Posts: 2,627
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

Charter cable (family's house) and Firefox

I usually go for DSL. It's generally slower than cable but anecdotally has been more consistent and reliable for me. And for the last 5 years I had a business DSL plan so I could run static public servers at home.

For my next move I'm going to see if I can move to a place that has fiber-to-the-home. If not, probably back to static DSL.
__________________
BigMoneyJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??
Old 01-22-2007, 10:33 AM   #36
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,554
Re: What Broadband and Web Browser do you use??

Verizon DSL and MSN
__________________

__________________
Dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:20 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.