Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters
Old 11-01-2005, 12:09 PM   #41
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters

Quote:
Originally Posted by wab
OK, ignore everything I said about your ISP.*

When you have WEP enabled, how are you determining that you are connected to your network?* * Just by the status light?* *Possibilities:

1) You're not really connected to your router, which would imply that your WEP keys don't match.

2) You are connected, but you didn't get a network address from your router after WEP was enable.* *You'll have to go to a DOS box and type IPCONFIG/RENEW.

3) Something else.* *
1.) I am connected, because when I view wireless networks, it says "Connected'* *And it says that it is a security-enabled wireless network. Also just disabling the WEP allows me to see the other machine and access the drives. All I do is disable WEP, disconnect from the network at the laptop and re-connect (Now it says unsecured network' and the Machine and all the files appear.*

2.) I typed* IPCONFIG/RENEW on both machines - nothing happened

3.) Probably something else - Now I remember why I gave up.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Re: Wi-Fi repeaters
Old 11-01-2005, 12:16 PM   #42
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
wabmester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,459
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cut-Throat
1.) I am connected, because when I view wireless networks, it says "Connected'* *And it says that it is a security-enabled wireless network. Also just disabling the WEP allows me to see the other machine and access the drives. All I do is disable WEP, disconnect from the network at the laptop and re-connect (Now it says unsecured network' and the Machine and all the files appear.*

2.) I typed* IPCONFIG/RENEW on both machines - nothing happened
I'm perplexed. Hopefully one of the other geeks here can chime in. But just one more question: how are you enabling and disabling WEP on both the card and the router? Are you connected to a web-based interface on the router while you have WEP enabled? If so, that would imply that you have good network connectivity at that time.

The last thing I would try is this:

1) Enable WEP, and verify you have a secure connection.

2) Reboot your router, and then reboot your computers. That should ensure that you get both a secure connection and a new IP address assigned.
__________________

__________________
wabmester is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters
Old 11-01-2005, 12:34 PM   #43
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters

Quote:
Originally Posted by wab
I'm perplexed.* *Hopefully one of the other geeks here can chime in.* *But just one more question: how are you enabling and disabling WEP on both the card and the router?* *Are you connected to a web-based interface on the router while you have WEP enabled?* *If so, that would imply that you have good network connectivity at that time.

The last thing I would try is this:

1) Enable WEP, and verify you have a secure connection.

2) Reboot your router, and then reboot your computers.* *That should ensure that you get both a secure connection and a new IP address assigned.
how are you enabling and disabling WEP on both the card and the router?

I key in http://192.168.1.1 in a IE explorer. It prompts me for my password and then I click a button that says WEP mandatory - I have an internal card in my laptop, so I don not do anything to enable WEP other than connecting and disconnecting to the network that is displayed when I view networks.

1.) I enabled WEP and verified I had a secure connection.

2.) I shut down both machines and unplugged the router. I plugged the router back in and re-booted both machines. I have security-enabled connection on the laptop, and it is so secure that I can no longer see the files on the desktop.

Update: With WEP enabled, I tried to get to the router from the wireless laptop by typing 192.168.1.1 and it could not access it. After disabling WEP I could get to the Setup of the router from the laptop just fine. -
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters
Old 11-01-2005, 12:51 PM   #44
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
wabmester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,459
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cut-Throat
Update:* With WEP enabled, I tried to get to the router from the wireless laptop by typing 192.168.1.1 and it could not access it. After disabling WEP I could get to the Setup of the router from the laptop just fine. -
How did you disable WEP when you couldn't connect to the router?* * I assume your desktop has a wired connection, right?

If nobody else can come up with a better answer, it looks to me like WEP is simply broken either on the laptop side or the router side.* * I would first try to find new drivers for the laptop wifi card, and if that doesn't help, see if new firmware is available for your router.
__________________
wabmester is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters
Old 11-02-2005, 08:44 AM   #45
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters

Quote:
Originally Posted by wab
How did you disable WEP when you couldn't connect to the router?* * I assume your desktop has a wired connection, right?

If nobody else can come up with a better answer, it looks to me like WEP is simply broken either on the laptop side or the router side.* * I would first try to find new drivers for the laptop wifi card, and if that doesn't help, see if new firmware is available for your router.
I had enough time in this problem yesterday that I got a hold of LINKSYS Tech Support. Turns out that there is a Box under the Wireless Network Properties for my SSID that says 'Key index' - It was set to 1 and I was using the 3rd password generated from the WEP. Setting the key index to 3 fixed all of the Problems.

A little more secure now! 8)
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters
Old 11-02-2005, 10:15 AM   #46
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
wabmester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,459
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cut-Throat
I had enough time in this problem yesterday that I got a hold of LINKSYS Tech Support. Turns out that there is a Box under the Wireless Network Properties for my SSID that says 'Key index'* - It was set to 1 and I was using the 3rd password generated from the WEP. Setting the key index to 3 fixed all of the Problems.
Ah yes, our good friend Operator Error. Still, it's odd that winblows was telling you that you had successfully established a secure connection when you had a key mismatch. That ain't right.
__________________
wabmester is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters
Old 11-02-2005, 02:30 PM   #47
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 909
Send a message via ICQ to Marshac Send a message via AIM to Marshac Send a message via Yahoo to Marshac
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters

Quote:
Originally Posted by wab
Ah yes, our good friend Operator Error.* *
Layer 8 problem.... 'operator error' could upset people
__________________
Marshac is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters
Old 11-02-2005, 02:35 PM   #48
Moderator Emeritus
laurence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5,234
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marshac
Layer 8 problem.... 'operator error' could upset people
Dude, the funny thing is there are a lot of people here who will get that joke!
__________________
laurence is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters
Old 11-02-2005, 03:11 PM   #49
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Wi-Fi repeaters

Quote:
Originally Posted by wab
Ah yes, our good friend Operator Error.* * *Still, it's odd that winblows was telling you that you had successfully established a secure connection when you had a key mismatch.* *That ain't right.
Don't be too hard on yourself. I would not call it 'operator error' - It was a Windows setting, that was not described in the LINKSYS Manual. I had indicated that I was using the 3rd generated password on the router setup. Why windows had a duplicate setting seems redundant. Also Windows did tell me that it was connected successfully.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:11 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.