Your experience with spam call blocking apps

walkinwood

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Have you used spam/marketing call blocking apps like Hiya, Truecaller, MrNumber, nomorobo? What's your experience with them?

I'm getting tired of the calls disturbing me. I decline them, but it means I have to move :)

I've been using Mr Number and HiYa for several months.

Neither does a good job with neighbor spoofing (calls using actual numbers belonging to people local to you) but they do catch almost all non-local spam/fraud calls - and the price is right (free).

I've been using Mr Number and HiYa for several months.

Neither does a good job with neighbor spoofing (calls using actual numbers belonging to people local to you) but they do catch almost all non-local spam/fraud calls - and the price is right (free).

+1 for me. MrNumber.

Have you used spam/marketing call blocking apps like Hiya, Truecaller, MrNumber, nomorobo? What's your experience with them?

I'm getting tired of the calls disturbing me. I decline them, but it means I have to move :)

We went with Ooma that uses Nomorobo. Most calls are eliminated now. We also have Panasonic cordless phones which announces the number and we don't answer if unfamiliar. Most robo calls hang up then without a message.

For cell phones, DW gets several even when using MrNumber. I've suggested she change her number but she doesn't want to bother.

I have a Sentry 2 box wired so the phone doesn't ring unless the caller is on the white list.

The bottom line is that when the phone rings at our house, it's like the old days, we jump up and grab it because it's never been spam.

The minor down-side is that if someone has never called before, they need to add themselves to the white list by pressing "0" in response to the Sentry warning, then call back. But mechanics, doctor's offices, etc, seem to get through just fine. And all future calls simply ring the phone without issue because they're now on the white list.