Join Early Retirement Today

Your help with friend's financial cutbacks?
Old 04-04-2008, 09:46 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Your help with friend's financial cutbacks?

All these articles about people adjusting their discretionary spending have me thinking. Do any of you help out your friends/neighbors with skills you might have or vice versa? For example, last night my phone rang - my girlfriend (and neighbor) asked me if I'd color her hair. Now, I have some experience in hair care of sorts (did lots of hair cuts for men and women on the ship I was stationed on, in addition to cutting kids' & ex-hubby's hair) - with absolutely NO formal training, but have always done a decent job. It was actually fun...even using the goofy crochet needles to pull hair out of a plastic cap for the highlighting part! To top it all off....her hair really looks great! She was one of those women who would pay $80+ for getting this done in a salon. Constructive social time, and I was happy to help. (made me appreciate the fact I do nothing but get my hair trimmed a few times a year!)

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!