Your help with friend's financial cutbacks?

Fireup2020

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
All these articles about people adjusting their discretionary spending have me thinking. Do any of you help out your friends/neighbors with skills you might have or vice versa? For example, last night my phone rang - my girlfriend (and neighbor) asked me if I'd color her hair. Now, I have some experience in hair care of sorts (did lots of hair cuts for men and women on the ship I was stationed on, in addition to cutting kids' & ex-hubby's hair) - with absolutely NO formal training, but have always done a decent job. It was actually fun...even using the goofy crochet needles to pull hair out of a plastic cap for the highlighting part! To top it all off....her hair really looks great! She was one of those women who would pay $80+ for getting this done in a salon. :eek: Constructive social time, and I was happy to help. (made me appreciate the fact I do nothing but get my hair trimmed a few times a year!)

I sell things on ebay for my friends . It's a hobby for me and it gives them extra money .

I have been slowly teaching my friend about budgets, retirement and how to save money for both the things you want and the things you need. Its a slow process because she comes from a family of major spenders but it is starting to impact her spending habits. (My skill is that I am good with numbers and well, she's not. The only way for her ever to design a budget is with my help and the help of autopay).

Sometimes, sure. One of the neighbors commented that his lawn mower wasn't cutting well & vibrated a lot. A dull out of balance blade will do that so I sharpened & balanced it with a grinder I've had for 20+ years. In a heavy snow I'll use the snow thrower on a few of the neighbor's driveways since most of the work is bundling up and getting it fired up.