Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Your ISP Choices?
Old 11-26-2014, 08:24 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
imoldernu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Peru
Posts: 4,616
Your ISP Choices?

We only have Comcast, and Hughes.

In searching Hughes, found this website re: services.
Top 1,011 Complaints and Reviews about Hughes Network Systems
Could not find cost other than the 3 mo. special. Based on the ratings comments, and the contract requirement... an absolute no.

At one time we had a dial-up service but this is now gone. Although we get offers from AT&T on an almost weekly basis, the service is not available. Classy, glossy, expensive mailers... great offers... not available.

Comcast service is now unreachable by phone to speak with a person, so I was desperately looking for an alternative. Maybe they'll get better after merging.

Some years ago, two different towns that we lived in had planned for and actually began installing "free" internet. Never finished. Since I won't live long enough for Google to connect the whole nation, am not hopeful on that account.

Anyway.... what is your ISP service... Telco? Cable? Fiber? Wireless?
What speed?
Is anyone in a free public service area?

OH!.... one more thing... Are you happy with your service?

Reviews and ratings here:
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/inter...t_services.htm
__________________

__________________
imoldernu is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-26-2014, 08:32 AM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Car-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Citizen of Texas
Posts: 2,473
I have 3meg DSL from Windstream, and I'm lucky to have it "out here in the country". The only other option would be satellite. I tried 3g (before the DSL was available) but I could only get about 150k out of it and there's no cable out here.
__________________

__________________
Car-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 08:35 AM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vermont & Sarasota, FL
Posts: 16,424
Our only choices are Fairpoint (DSL) or Charter (cable). We use Fairpoint. It is a little slower but also a little less expensive and meets our needs.
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.
pb4uski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 08:38 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
aja8888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 7,156
Comcast and Consolidated Communications...both of which are horrible to deal with. I use Comcast right now,,,but my monthly bill is growing as they have very frequent price increases. Maybe I'll give CC a try soon.
__________________
......."Everybody has a plan until they get punched in the face." -- philosopher Mike Tyson.
aja8888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 08:48 AM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 8,597
Like many, just two choices.
Cable (Time Warner) which is horrible to deal with, according to everyone I know.
or
DSL from the local phone company, which is just slightly less horrible to deal with.

We also get the offers for what sounds like good service, but it's always "unavailable at your location."
__________________
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 08:53 AM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,038
Time Warner cable or Verizon DSL. Just noticed a price increase by Verizon. We have DSL and it has been reliable and works well at 15Mbps. Except when trying to view Netflix streaming, but it has gotten noticeably better in the last three months.
__________________
RE2Boys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 09:07 AM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
kcowan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pacific latitude 20/49
Posts: 5,717
Send a message via Skype™ to kcowan
We use Telmex DSL in Mexico and Shaw cable internet in BC. The cable gets bad every evening in our 150 unit apartment. Our DSL is pretty good but the line has been out for 2 weeks. We are using our neighbours wifi in the interim.
__________________
For the fun of it...Keith
kcowan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 09:17 AM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,885
I switched from ATT DSL (not U-verse, but old DSL) to Comcast basic internet about a half year ago and couldn't be happier.

With Comcast, not only to I get better speed consistently, but connection has only been lost a few times and when that happened the connection would be up within a couple of hours. Plus, just calling their number I'd get a recording telling they are down and expected recovery.

On the other hand, with my old DSL connection, I'd get intermittent connections almost daily.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 09:24 AM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
photoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,301
We heard huge horror stories with Comcast (although what ISP doesn't have these) so we weren't thrilled to use them (previously with att u-verse). However, there were no surprise charges (and only $10 install fee). The service is actually pretty good with low pings and 30Mbps.

The main problem was when we called to activate. The rep initially tried to tell us our cable modem wasn't supported (we bought instead of renting) even though it is docsis 3 and listed on their website as a supported modem (I think they are trying to get rentals).
__________________
photoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 09:44 AM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
imoldernu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Peru
Posts: 4,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by photoguy View Post
The main problem was when we called to activate. The rep initially tried to tell us our cable modem wasn't supported (we bought instead of renting) even though it is docsis 3 and listed on their website as a supported modem (I think they are trying to get rentals).
That's SOP for Comcast. MY old Docsis2 worked fine for my use, but lots of pressure to change. We're now using their "Technicolor" modem, and get 55Mbps "burst" and continued @ 25-35Mbps... but it costs!...
Our rationale for spending too much on TV/Phone/Internet/Streaming Netflix is that it's now a major part of our entertainment expense... All told, less than the cost for a one person 4day cruise. (lots easier to say this when we don't cruise anyway!)
__________________
imoldernu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 09:44 AM   #11
Moderator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rocky Inlets
Posts: 24,445
We have two options:

1. Crappy and inconsistent broadband, with bad customer service is thrown in for no extra charge

2. Unacceptably crappy fiber / copper hybrid that misrepresents the real availability but compensates with bad customer service.
__________________
MichaelB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 10:12 AM   #12
Dryer sheet wannabe
3800Fiero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Far South Chicagoland
Posts: 22
Where we live there is no cable, fiber or DSL. We are currently on a wireless 3x1 meg connection that is very stable and reliable but runs about $70/mo. There is a new wireless startup in our area that is offering a 5x2 meg connection for $60/mo. Thinking about switching.
__________________
3800Fiero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 10:14 AM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
mpeirce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus area
Posts: 1,590
We have two cable companies here: WOW! and Time Warner (previously Insight Communications, soon to be Comcast). Yes we have two separate cables running through the back yard. Actual competition. I know, unusual.

We used to have Insight and it was fairly good service - a nice speed improvement over the T1 I originally had at the house. When WOW ran their cable through our backyard and offered 50/5 Mbps service we switched (a very nice improvement over 15/.7 Mbps from Insight) and it has been reliable and excellent service.

We also have Frontier (telephone) offering DSL. It's slow since we are a long way from the CO.

There are also a couple of wireless (not telephone) ISPs around here. I almost tried one of them a few years ago (before WOW put in their cable) but good line of sight was iffy.
__________________
mpeirce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 10:36 AM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
38Chevy454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,583
I am out in the country a bit, so DSL through phone co is my only good option. We have Century Link here, formerly Qwest, and my DSL is supposed to be 7 Mbps, but real results are about 1.5 Mbps. Only other options are through cell phone or satellite, both of which are worse than my slower DSL connection.
__________________
After Monday & Tuesday even the calendar says, W-T-F...

Semi-Retired 7/1/16: working part-time (60%) for now [4/24/16 changed to 80%]
Retired Aug 2, 2017; age 53
38Chevy454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 10:43 AM   #15
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Bikerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,901
I have Crapcast for TV and was on ATT U-verse DSL however ATT sold all of its CT infrastructure to Frontier last month. I only buy the bandwidth that I need.
__________________
“I guess I should warn you, if I turn out to be particularly clear, you've probably misunderstood what I've said” Alan Greenspan
Bikerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 10:58 AM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
RockyMtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Scottsdale
Posts: 1,231
We have Century Link and Cox here in Scottsdale. 20mps from Century link is good for my needs and the top they have right now in our hood. I pay $31 per month as every year I call and threaten to drop and go to Cox. They dutifully cut the price from $62 to $31 for the next twelve months.
__________________
FIRE'D in July 2009 at 51...Never look back!
RockyMtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Third Option?
Old 11-26-2014, 11:42 AM   #17
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,832
Third Option?

I bet many of you have a third option:

Clear Wireless, which uses a cellular modem (at least I think that's how it works). This is my backup ISP, and am not using it now. You can buy a month at a time from Clear Wireless and be up and runing in an hour. I own the modem (got off eBay). Latency can be pretty bad with this provider.
Others available:

AT&T U-Verse
is available to me, but I have never tried it. I had old DSL from AT&T, but they refused to renew the DSL of service for me (they tried to push a forced "upgrade" to U-Verse, and I bailed out on them).

Time Warner Cable is what I have now. I'm in the 12 month "deal", but will probably bail and get U-Verse "new customer" deal when that runs out.

They all want me to "bundle", but I get my TV over the air, and supplement that with stuff from icefilms or whatever. And my phone is Ooma, so no bundle needed...just be an internet "pipe" and leave me alone!
__________________
sengsational is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 02:07 PM   #18
Moderator
rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 8,807
My choice is Timewarner broadband - about $35/month for "standard" - which is "up to" 15M downstream, 1M upstream. It's supposed to be going up to 50M downstream soon - for no additional charge.

The other option is ATT uverse.

I've heard from neighbors that the uverse is slower than the time warner... 2 neighbors switched back to time warner it was so bad. They're about the same price for just internet broadband.

I have a former coworker who lived in a community that had a choice of cox and timewarner... he bounced between the two - switching every year - always getting the 1 year starter price.
__________________
Retired June 2014. No longer an enginerd - now I'm just a nerd.
micro pensions 7%, rental income 18%
rodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 02:19 PM   #19
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,878
Only one provider available. Regional cable company , not one of the megas.
Service is actually fairly good although they have their moments.

U-verse is getting closer but their plans are more expensive for slower service. Also their equipment is lousy. Their routers don't support bridge mode which makes using your own equipment a little more complicated.
__________________
rbmrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 02:24 PM   #20
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
ls99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,792
Comcast we have, dialup is the alternate at home.

At my mancave, nothing. Even for cellphone I need a high gain 24db directional antenna for useable signal. My cellphone is just a phone. At $10 to $30 per year it is adequate to phone home.

On and off I play with high gain antennas to reach any kind wifi, so far nada, zip. I refuse to go the smartphone route.

Edit add: I do have a Hughes antenna and transceiver. Having read the reviews I do not consider setting it up. I may convert the dish to a wifi transceiver, see what I can fish out of the ether. It is a nice high gain Dish. I also know where the focal point is. Now it just needs a gitaroundtoit.
__________________

__________________
There must be moderation in everything, including moderation.
ls99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connection Problems: Router, ISP? TromboneAl Other topics 49 10-12-2014 08:36 PM
Netflix ISP ratings Stanley Other topics 3 03-13-2013 04:07 AM
ISP - getting what you pay for? Janet H Other topics 23 02-16-2009 12:09 PM
A little ISP advice? noworkethic Other topics 11 11-21-2008 08:49 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:55 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.