Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

31 Y/O and over Ind. stocks - ready to simplify
Old 02-15-2014, 07:49 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Hi all,

Alright, I've always been very interested in the markets, but am OVER investing in individual companies and ready to simplify. Basically, I've been investing since 2007, am 31 y/o, married, 2 young girls (4 and 1) and what I've found is that my individual stock picking has seriously lagged the overall markets and big mutual funds, so why am I wasting all this time for lower than market returns.

Anyway, I'd like some advice. I do have a few funds at Vanguard: Wellington and Dividend Growth. I also have a few at Fidelity (which is where my brokerage accounts are with: Fidelity total stock market, Leveraged stock and low priced stock.

I have approx. 165k between both accounts. I would like to pick 5-10 funds that offer exposure across all spectrums - maybe large cap, mid, and small....not sure. I'd like to get some advice from the group. Should I just drop everything between a total market index like the one I have at fidelity, wellington and dividend growth. I'm also interested in a few of the small cap (explorer), mid cap growth and large cap (morgan growth). I wanted to get your perspectives about some of the other vanguard funds besides wellington or total market.

As always, thanks for the advice!
moneymaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!