Join Early Retirement Today

401K Max + catch up
Old 11-22-2016, 08:37 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

401K Max + catch up

This is my first year maxing my 401K contributions. I am old enough to get the 24K vice the 18K. Silly me assumed I could withhold the 24K straight away. Pretty simple % stretched over 12 months right? Wrong. Turns out there is a whole separate section in my financial institutions web page for the catch up portion. So basically I have three pay days to totally fund the catch up portion (6K). Not a big deal. I think that I missed a few bucks matching from my company this last pay day because I didn't hit my 6%. Oh well. Now I know. When I start the new year I have to use one % withholding to make it to the 18K and a separate % withholding to get the additional 6K. I don't know why they complicate it like that. The IRS and everyone else has my DOB. It's not a big secret.

" People say I'm lazy, dreaming my life away Well, they give me all kinds of advice designed to enlighten me When I tell them that I'm doing fine watching shadows on the wall "Don't you miss the big time, boy. You're no longer on the ball" -John Lennon-
Bigdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!