Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

$500,000 in No-Risk Savings Account?
Old 10-17-2015, 04:16 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

$500,000 in No-Risk Savings Account?

With the recent downturn (which has upturned some) I am researching a different route for our $500,000. It is now with an investment firm which all of the accounts take hits when the market is down, but they also gain when the markets are good. Since I started drawing money two years ago it has kept the balance about the same until this last downturn which it was reduced about $20,000.

Are there any completely safe options that will also earn me some money? Also what type of tax hit would I take if I moved the money? The money is in a combinations of IRA's. Roth IRA's, bonds, mutual funds and stocks. I am also paying about $5,000 in fees a year for these accounts. I am retired (64) and about $400,000 is in my name where the wife will turn 59 1/2 in January. I would need to pay bills directly off of this account are do monthly transfers to my checking account.
reubenray is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!