$85 a barrel Oil??

Maximillion

Full time employment: Posting here.
Nigeria in disarray, Iran could shut off the flow or have the US launch an embargo, Saudi could be caught up in civil unrest, the US will pull out of Iraq which will descend into Tribal Warfare, Canadian Oil Sands not ready yet, Chavez still in, all of which point to Oil Stocks as being a good buy.

I have bought the Energy ETF.

The energy sector is very sensitive to news and volitile. Proceed with cautions.

If you bought Energy at $15 bbl oil, then you made a ton.

$85 oil? Sure. Place your bets, gents.

I watched an in depth interview with a commodities trader, what he said made sense, not a short term play, but a small allocation could help offset lousy bond returns.

Where does oil fit in your asset allocation plans?

In my case, I don't go out of my way to invest in oil assets because I work in the industry. It would be a bummer to lose my job and have the portfolio take a big hit at the same time for the same reason.

I do think that in the long-run it would be a good idea to own some major oil comanies provided they have a good balance sheet and good fundamentals including reserves! We are still dependent on oil and as places like India and China continue to industrialize (although this has already happened to a large extent), demand for a dear commodity will increase.