Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

A different investment "mind-set". What do you think?
Old 01-11-2007, 09:24 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

A different investment "mind-set". What do you think?

I'm sure that many will find fault with my investment "philosophy", but after reading some of the recent threads on bond investing, etc., I want to pitch my "concept" to you. I wouldn't call this an investment strategy, but rather a mind-set that has developed over time. DW and I have been saving and investing for 30 years (married when I was 19.) During the contribution and growing years, we had a variety of mutual funds, common stocks, preferred stocks and a few bonds. The mix changed as my (our) ideas (and understanding of the market) changed, but we always stayed focused and kept saving and watching our investments.

Skip forward to 1999 and early 2000. Our investments were at all-time highs and we were feeling pretty good. Although we had substantial $$ saved, I don't think we truly appreciated the "value" in what we had. The market downturn that followed was pretty painful to us, as it was to many investors, although, thanks to a fairly diversified portfolio, we came through it okay. The extended market downturn and slow recovery had a dramatic effect on how we viewed our savings and investing.