Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Another Quiken question
Old 07-14-2005, 08:00 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 408
Another Quiken question

I am using Quicken Premier 2004. Last week I bought some bonds in my brokerage accont at VG. The bonds were from AmCntry, not VG. When I updated my acconts on Quicken, it recorded a cash transaction but didn't show a bond purchase. Now I have a cash balance in my Quicken account.

Do I need to manually enter in the purchase? Will I have to update it manually as well?

Thanks for your help. I have used Quicken for a few years for my daily expense tracking but am new to using it for tracking investments.

LL
__________________

__________________
LovesLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Re: Another Quiken question
Old 07-14-2005, 09:34 AM   #2
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to Newell
Re: Another Quiken question

LL,
I'm not sure I understand. When you say that the bonds were from AmCntry do you mean individual bonds or a bond mutual fund? When you updated your Quicken accounts, did you do a download from VG or did you enter the purchase manually?
__________________

__________________
Newell is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Another Quiken question
Old 07-14-2005, 10:10 AM   #3
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 408
Re: Another Quiken question

The funds from AmCentury is a bond fund. I did a download from VG and it did not show up on in Quicken. It did, however, show as a purchase on my account at VG when I look at my account online.

The only transaction that shows up on my quicken is that now I have a cash balance for the amount of the bonds that I purchased. The only thing that I can think that is different is that the bonds were purchased through my brokerage account since they were not VG funds. All other funds that I have bought have been VG funds and they show up just fine.

Thanks for your help.

LL
__________________
LovesLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Another Quiken question
Old 07-14-2005, 10:21 AM   #4
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to Newell
Re: Another Quiken question

If I'm not mistaken, Vanguard treats Vanguard mutual fund accounts completely separate from their brokerage accounts. I haven't done this before but it may be that you need to do a download from your brokerage account - again, I'm just guessing!
__________________
Newell is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Another Quiken question
Old 07-14-2005, 10:24 AM   #5
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 408
Re: Another Quiken question

Thank you. I will give it a try and see what happens.

LL
__________________
LovesLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Another Quiken question
Old 07-14-2005, 11:08 AM   #6
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 408
Re: Another Quiken question

It still didn't work for me. I went to VG, logged on, went to the tab to download transactions (upper right corner), checked the account I wanted to download transactions to, and saved the file to quicken as a .qfx file. I went to quicken and tried to import the file and it looks like it was saved as a wordpad or something.


Any ideas?

LL
__________________
LovesLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Another Quiken question
Old 07-14-2005, 11:19 AM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 408
Re: Another Quiken question

I am such a dummy : : :

I forgot to first create the account in Quicken.

Thanks for your help, oldbykur. Everything is working fine now.

LL
__________________

__________________
LovesLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to answer questions. ???With a question or assignment????? dex Forum Admin 2 02-25-2007 08:56 AM
Asset Allocation Question - Deferred Compensation b3bobster FIRE and Money 1 11-06-2006 04:51 PM
Question for the CPA’s and Financial Professionals? PsyopRanger FIRE and Money 10 07-05-2006 08:40 AM
Social Security and Pension question guest FIRE and Money 31 06-24-2004 06:19 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:27 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.