Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Anyone tried using Fidelity's Income Strategy Evaluator Tool? Getting an error
Old 03-07-2011, 10:47 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,001
Anyone tried using Fidelity's Income Strategy Evaluator Tool? Getting an error

I'm not sure if you can access this w/o being a Fidelity customer. I've been trying to see how this tool works, but I keep getting an error that fails trying to enter step 4: Income Strategy. I've called my private access team, talked to the customer service/technical support twice now, it's been broken since last week, but apparently I'm the first person who has contacted them. They were able to duplicate the problem too. I'm awaiting a call when/if they get it fixed. If you're a Fidelity customer, can you give this a try and see if it's works for you or not? Thanks. Here's the link:

Welcome to the Fidelity Income Strategy Evaluator(SM): Fidelity Investments
__________________

__________________
Dimsumkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-07-2011, 11:04 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,627
Everything worked for me a few weeks ago. I will try again this evening and let you know.

Have you tried the Retirement Income Planner (RIP)? What I like about it is that in the hardcopy (aka PDF) report that you can download at the end, it gives the percent withdrawal from your portfolio for every year. You can then see if you are going over 4% in some years or going below 2% in other years. I think both of these withdrawal rates are probably not good.
__________________

__________________
LOL! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 11:15 AM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,001
LOL,
I've used the Retirement Income Planner for years, it's a nice tool. I just noticed this Income Strategy Evaluator, just wanted to see what it offers. Let me know if it works for you. The error message I got was a red box outlining the words "!Sorry, error during submission".
__________________
Dimsumkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 11:29 AM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Brat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,914
I gave it a spin. Our IRAs are all at Fidelity so it used our current data. Fascinating that we are slightly above the goal it set. It recommends a couple annuities but frankly at current rates they aren't a good value, IMHO.
__________________
Duck bjorn.
Brat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:02 PM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brat View Post
I gave it a spin. Our IRAs are all at Fidelity so it used our current data. Fascinating that we are slightly above the goal it set. It recommends a couple annuities but frankly at current rates they aren't a good value, IMHO.
Brat,
You didn't get this error then? I still can't get into the Income Strategy step 4.
__________________
Dimsumkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:16 PM   #6
gone traveling
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 3,851
It works fine for me. Imports all investments as RIP does (via Full View, of both FIDO and non-FIDO accounts). Also uses the detail expenses from RIP.

Yes, it does show on the output report the use of both Fixed (e.g. SPIA) and variable annuities. I already have an SPIA, but that income is covered via the income report and is not shown on Full View as an asset (e.g. it's treated like a pension or SS).

For me, it's just another way to think of "possibilities" based upon another set of rules. Doesn’t say you must invest as it recommends (same thing as VG's F.E. product), but it does make you think a bit outside the box.

As for me, I still use FIDO's RIP, along with my own investments to see the results. IMHO, it's still the best "free tool" out there (assuming you are a FIDO customer). But then again, that's only my opinion ...
__________________
rescueme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:22 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,001
Rescueme,
Thanks for the update that this works for you. I'm not sure why mine keeps crashing with this error. Even the tech team at Fidelity was able to duplicate my problem, I assumed it was causing issues for all, but that's not the case. I wasn't doing anything special, just clicking the prompts and the tool keeps crashing on me. Guess I'll have to wait for them to fix it on my account.
__________________
Dimsumkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:57 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Dawg52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central MS/Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 7,442
I just gave it a spin and it worked for me. It recommended buying annuities with almost 25% of my portfolio, 2/3 going to an immediate annuity and 1/3 to a variable. I guess the variable part is suppose to give me some potential growth. I'm not writing annuities off, but I'm not sure I can make myself write a check for that amount of money.

Oh well, I'm not doing anything until I reach SS age anyway so plenty of time to think about it. As I said in other threads, they only reason I would consider going that route is to make sure I have something coming in down the road in case I go bonkers. Don't want to spend it all on wild woman as I get too old. On the other hand...............
__________________
Retired 3/31/2007@52
Full time wuss.......
Dawg52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 01:26 PM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,627
This tool will always recommend annuities as it describes in its documentation and in its output as I wrote in this previous thread: Fidelity (new) Income Strategy Evaluator
__________________
LOL! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 02:15 PM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,001
I got an email reply from fidelity. They don't think it affects all customers, but some. They'll let me know when they have it resolved, but nothing yet for people getting errors (like me!)
__________________
Dimsumkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 02:32 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 8,623
Worked for me a couple of weeks ago.

Did you try emptying your browser cache and rebooting?
__________________
Pas de lieu Rhône que nous.
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 03:06 PM   #12
gone traveling
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 3,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimsumkid View Post
...nothing yet for people getting errors (like me!)
That's what happens when you have a portfolio in excess of $100M ...
__________________
rescueme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 03:33 PM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Lisa99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Villages
Posts: 1,327
Worked for me as well in the test I just now ran.
__________________
Lisa99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 04:02 PM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by rescueme View Post
That's what happens when you have a portfolio in excess of $100M ...
Sure wish I did, then I'd never have another financial worry...ever!
__________________
Dimsumkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 04:10 PM   #15
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 42,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimsumkid View Post
Sure wish I did, then I'd never have another financial worry...ever!
Unfortunately that probably isn't the case. More money just creates different concerns - you'd be worried about growing it, not losing it, being taken advantage of, or some other pitfall.

All this is strictly hearsay of course...
__________________
Numbers is hard

When I hit 70, it hit back

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 07:22 PM   #16
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,627
Under the "Your Retirement Savings" one had to enter their Liquid Net Worth. If you entered a number below your "Total Portfolio Amount" (all of it should be liquid), then you get this error message:
"Please provide a Liquid Net Worth no less than your Total Portfolio Amount."

This error then does not allow you to continue. However, this is not your error, but might be something to look at anyways.
__________________
LOL! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 07:51 PM   #17
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by LOL! View Post
Under the "Your Retirement Savings" one had to enter their Liquid Net Worth. If you entered a number below your "Total Portfolio Amount" (all of it should be liquid), then you get this error message:
"Please provide a Liquid Net Worth no less than your Total Portfolio Amount."

This error then does not allow you to continue. However, this is not your error, but might be something to look at anyways.
I got that error the first time, then corrected it. The error I get now looks more like a system error not meant for customers to see. Looks like a programmer's message to flag a problem. I used to develop code, that's why I'm surprised this tool made it all the way into production use, even more surprised they haven't been able to fix it since I told them about it last Wed or Thur.
__________________
Dimsumkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 07:56 PM   #18
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by REWahoo View Post
Unfortunately that probably isn't the case. More money just creates different concerns - you'd be worried about growing it, not losing it, being taken advantage of, or some other pitfall.

All this is strictly hearsay of course...
One thing's for sure, with those kinds of assets, I'd never have to worry about getting health insurance and affording the premiums or future increases. If they dropped me, I would just self insure!
__________________
Dimsumkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 01:46 PM   #19
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,001
I got a call back/update on the problem. It's a pretty involved issue, affects a number of customers that used Full View, possibly had account names greater 40 characters (I don't) and may have trust accounts in their portfolio. I also mentioned that I've had errors from Full View doubling my assets from oustide companies (i.e., TD Ameritrade) and I couldn't delete them, I had to zero out the accounts and hide them. They're going to install a fix around 3/29, so they're hoping this will be fixed by end of this month.
__________________
Dimsumkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:59 AM   #20
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,001
Just thought I'd update this. Fidelity fixed the issue with this tool. At least it works for me now!
__________________

__________________
Dimsumkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fidelity (new) Income Strategy Evaluator LOL! FIRE and Money 0 02-05-2011 05:21 PM
Income strategy and tactics nun FIRE and Money 24 11-14-2009 07:36 PM
Income Harvesting Strategy paper (accounts or buckets?) LOL! FIRE and Money 45 08-11-2008 08:39 AM
Fixed Income Strategy for Beating Inflation Running_Man FIRE and Money 30 07-22-2008 11:15 AM
Has anyone used Fidelity's My Plan tool? firewhen FIRE and Money 7 12-30-2006 11:28 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:59 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.