Asset Allocation and Targeting

kgtest

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
As some of you may know I am a newbie who is trying to better understand investing and my portfolio.

In the process I have learned a ton from this forum and the internet and for that I am completely grateful. This learning was long overdue for me.

So I want to target an AA as that will make my portfolio easier to manage and maintain. I feel I am in a good position to get my AA in order but I am not too sure where to start.

I see people post there AA as 65/25/10 which I am assuming is StocksAndEquities / Bonds / Cash.

If that is the case, I want to target 80 / 5 / 15 meaning I know I have 15% cash on hand at all times.

If I were to look at my current AA, my numbers would look like this based on my Retirement Portfolio AA = (stocks/equities + bonds) + Available Investment Cash : or, 90 / 5 / 5 . This is actually where I prefer it and I will not be picking up any bonds in 2014.

I actually have much more cash reserve available to invest, but obviously I wanted to make sure I put this into the market properly.

In reality my AA is more like : 39 / 3 / 58 which is crazy I know. Thats why I am trying to funnel in some more cash if you have read my other threads you may know this :D

Are there any online tools for Asset Allocation?

We did an M* X-Ray in this http://www.early-retirement.org/for...counts-too-diversified-69563.html#post1388192 thread.

M* X-Ray and the "risk tolerance" quiz above are two good specific tools, but there are many others. What exactly are you looking for in terms of online asset allocation tools?

Out of curiosity how did you arrive at 80:5:15 if you don't mind? Nothing wrong with it at your (young?) age.