Join Early Retirement Today

Bank POD Issue
Old 06-08-2018, 07:34 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Bank POD Issue

I am just curious if anyone has experienced this before. My mother recently died. I am her only child and the sole heir in her will as well as being executor. I am scheduled to consult with an attorney on that aspect of her estate . I am an attorney myself but probate is not my field. My mother was not a wealthy woman and her estate is simple with basically a bank account, a small IRA, a paid for house and her personal belongings (and car).

I was the beneficiary of the bank account in that it was payable on death to me. I am also beneficiary of the IRA.

I got her death certificate so I went down to the bank. I knew (I thought) that the bank account would simply go to me as the beneficiary. There are a number of utility bills being paid out of the bank account and I wanted to make sure those continued to be paid.

Well.

Because the bank account was above a certain amount the bank basically said that I had to so through probate in order to get the money transferred to me. And, since my mom was now deceased the bank would pay nothing more out of her account to things like the automatic utility payments. So, within a few minutes I found out that the bank wouldn't transfer the money to me and wouldn't let the existing account pay the bills coming to it (even though I was willing for them to be paid).

I must admit I was very surprised about the probate thing. I mean, I thought the whole point of POD was that the funds in the account were transferred outside of probate.

I do plan to do what is necessary probate-wise so that I can sell my mom's house and car. And, I am the only child so it all comes to me in the end anyway. But, I was wanting to get access to the funds so that I could continue to pay the bills related to the house and could do any other work needed to get the house ready for sale.