Join Early Retirement Today

Bank retirement funds
Old 10-22-2007, 06:44 AM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

Bank retirement funds

As a total newb to the retirement scene i am wondering how a bank runs a retirement fund account.I have a good pension from my employer but i also have about $60000 in the bank as a guaranteed investment (GiC) if i turned this $60k into an income fund would the bank just take the monthly payout from the capital? or do they just pay me the interest on the $60k? and what kind of monthly payment could i expect on $60k?:confused:
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-22-2007, 10:44 AM   #2

By the lack of response I guess an Individual Pension Plan set up by a bank must be a local phenomenon'.
Old 10-22-2007, 11:06 AM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Perhaps if you provided a symbol or more info it would be easier to respond.