Join Early Retirement Today

Banking Agreements
Old 05-30-2016, 04:21 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Banking Agreements

I recently received from my bank, a
"Consumer Deposit Agreement and Disclosures"

This is a 13 page agreement printed in 4 point type... (very tiny, less than 1/8 inch) and it literally covers the pages from edge to edge.

What to make of it? While I'm not a lawyer, the wording is a virtual TOTAL indemnification of the Bank from any and all legal action... with a final sentence that gives the procedure to opt out of binding arbitration, (which looks to give the bank a right to reject your account.)

Yeah... so what's new?... Let me suggest that I have never, ever seen a document so loaded with exclusions and penalties to the customer.

One of the minor factors concerns CD's, and penalties for early withdrawal. While today, the interest rate on a 5year CD is just over 1%... any withdrawal made within the first year results in a penalty of 365 days interest. That penalty would result in a charge to the capital amount. similar charges to lesser terms.

The most bothersome part of the agreement is the part about withdrawals of monies from any type of account. There is a long list of different kinds of delays in making available your own deposit funds, whether by check, or in some cases cash. If an account is funded by an ACH transfer from another bank, some types of withdrawals may be restricted for 45 days.

Overall, this funds availability and the Binding Arbitration (new and boilerclad beyond belief in the bank's favor) signal a new hard line.
.................................................. ..........