Join Early Retirement Today

Best way to move large amount of cash into funds?
Old 05-12-2006, 02:47 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Best way to move large amount of cash into funds?

Hi,
I'm a new member, but long time lurker. My wife and I are both 45 and diligently working towards trying to FIRE by 50 (no later than 55). I've just finished reading Bernstein's Four Pillars and will be starting Bob Clyatt's book this weekend.

I've been maxing out my 401k contributions for the past 10-12 years, and my income is too high for us to qualify for a Roth. Over the past couple of years, we've accumulated a considerable amount of cash in taxable accounts. We would like to invest about $100K-$150K of this into a blend of Vanguard tax managed funds. I like the idea of using the "value averaging" approach described in Bernstein's book, but I'm not sure how often and over what total time period we should move this money into the Vanguard account. Bernstein suggests periodic investments over 3 years, but this seems like a long time to us, especially considering that the money barely keeps up with inflation while sitting in our CD ladder. Any suggestions?

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!