Bond Ladders

chinaco

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I am FIRE planning.

I am considering our options for managing a stable payout (income stream).

Right now I am using Bond Mutual Funds.

I have been considering the upside/downside of using a bond ladder.

I am considering splitting the approach... bond ladder and mutual fund.

I am so confussssssssssssssed! :(

I am hoping I can leverage your experience

If you know of a good source of information that shows the trade-off between options... please share it.

If you gone through this yourself and decided to use a ladder or not use a ladder, please share why you decided one way or the others.

Like all retirement management decision... it is more complicated than one would expect.

Disclaimer: I am an Engineer and by no means any sort of expert. I will simply describe my approach.

My age: 52
Status: FIREd with COLA'd survivor pension and fixed annuity for income

History of bond investments:
1996-97 - EE bonds purchased for 13 consecutive months
1997 to present - Balanced VG mutual funds containing corporates and other critters I have no clue about selecting in individual issues
2004-6 - low denomination I bonds, purchased for 33 consecutive months
1997 to present - built up a large stake in national TE munis via VWAHX, then VWALX*. Still DCAing into this fund at a slower rate than during the principal buildup period.
2009 - followed the "pssst Wellesley" advice found here :D during a consolidation of some "dog" mutual funds with expense ratios only a beginner would pay :blush:

Result: Full diversification of bond portion of retirement portfolio.

* The VWALX fund is the "OMG my furnace died" or the "Inflation just killed me" backup mechanism for me. It remains untouched at present. Every 30 days I am receiving some very nice TE dividends, all reinvested.

Disclaimer: I am an Engineer and by no means any sort of expert. I will simply describe my approach.

Thanks.