California taxes on HSA dividends, interest or cap gains?

explanade

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
OK, I contributed and bought VG fund shares in my HSA account but never redeemed.

So is there anything to report?

Clearly I'm getting dividends and more shares are being purchased (DRIP) but HSA Administrators isn't sending me any kind of tax document.

I Googled and found this Bogleheads thread where someone claims HSA fund administrators generally are not reporting this info. to the states. Since there's no federal requirement, they must not bother with particular states which seek to tax any HSA gains?

https://www.bogleheads.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=203443

So CA can't know but yet when I'm getting a federal adjustment for the annual contribution, it gets carried over in TT to the CA return.

What do we do, manually add up transactions for dividends and self-report?

Do we get to at least deduct the administrator fees?

I am new to HSA's so I'm not very knowledgeable regarding the rules & regulations, but I'm reasonably sure that HSA's are basically the same as IRA's

That is, unless you're over a certain age, they should continue to grow tax-deferred.

Hopefully someone who's more knowledgeable will chime in.

I could be wrong on this but here's what I think happens in CA. (Or at least how turbo tax treats it.

In CA, HSA contributions are taxable by the state. (Tax free by the feds). The withdrawals are like withdrawals from ROTHs, presuming they're used for qualified expenses... So it's post tax money in - and tax free withdrawals if used for medical expenses.

Similar to 529's also.

The growth is tax free if you use the money for qualified expenses.

A quick google suggests I got this right... but if I don't please correct me.

Well HSA Administrators shows I got $300 in dividends and cap gains distributions in 2016.

That increases my CA taxes by like $25-30, though HSA Administrators also charged me $62-63 in fees.