Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-25-2014, 11:18 AM   #201
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by audreyh1 View Post
I just don't like the link to my high balance brokerage account.
I spend the dividends basically.


As for tracking the withdrawals with XE.com, they don't always post the same time and currencies are traded around the clock so you can't exactly withdraw it if it closes at a favorable rate because by the time your withdrawal is posted, it maybe entirely a different rate is used.

Same thing with credit card charges, it doesn't always line up with what the exchange rate is showing at a given point in time.
__________________

__________________
explanade is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-25-2014, 11:51 AM   #202
Moderator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 20,710
I use XE.com regularly to do transfers as well as spot checks for exchange rates. I think it gives a good guideline. My ATM card refunds up to $8 of ATM fees each month and has no foreign exchange fee, so I guess any fees are baked into the exchange rate.
__________________

__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55, moved to England in May 2016
Now it's adventure before dementia
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 01:12 PM   #203
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 401
Out of curiosity, I compared the Euro/US$ "mid-market" exchange rate on XE.com for June 13, versus the rate I got that day using my Schwab ATM card to get some euros, versus the rate I got using my PenFed Visa card that same day. I realize that the rate varies throughout the day.

XE.com: 1.3523
Schwab ATM rate: 1.3580
PenFed Visa rate: 1.3573

There were no additional fees for either my Schwab ATM card or PenFed Visa credit card.
__________________
anethum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 01:29 PM   #204
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
mpeirce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus area
Posts: 1,527
1.3917 - XE.com on 7/7/14
1.3949 - B of A Visa from a purchase I made in Vienna on 7/7/14

There is a slight bias, but half a percent or less. This was a Pin & Signature Visa card, not an ATM card.
__________________
mpeirce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 01:37 PM   #205
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: E. Wash
Posts: 1,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by audreyh1 View Post
I just don't like the link to my high balance brokerage account.
I can not swear this is true but I believe you can set up a separate account with only money market account in it. You can then transfer balances as you need and do not directly expose your brokerage balances.
We use our working account money market balance for our link to fund the atm.
Nwsteve
__________________
nwsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 08:39 AM   #206
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
kcowan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pacific latitude 20/49
Posts: 5,507
Send a message via Skype™ to kcowan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan View Post
so I guess any fees are baked into the exchange rate.
Yes all the fees are baked in the rate. In Mexico where it matters to me a lot, a TD debit card gave me a rate of 11.5 all in, whereas using my Intercam account gave me 12.25 so I use Intercam all the time now. Plus there are no daily limits on withdrawals. And Chase Visa for a charges.

But in Eastern Europe, it seems to be a crap shoot.
__________________
For the fun of it...Keith
kcowan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 12:06 PM   #207
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 15,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwsteve View Post
I can not swear this is true but I believe you can set up a separate account with only money market account in it. You can then transfer balances as you need and do not directly expose your brokerage balances.
We use our working account money market balance for our link to fund the atm.
Nwsteve
Right, this is what I would have to do if I went that route.

But now I have a PenFed ATM/debit card linked to a checking account that I don't use for anything other than pay my PenFed VISA bill. So I'll try that route.
__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2014, 03:06 PM   #208
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 15,617
Anyone use the PenFed ATM/debit (VISA Gold Check Card) overseas? Any fees?
__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2014, 04:27 PM   #209
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Chuckanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West of the Mississippi
Posts: 6,146
I just got a chip/pin/signature card. Interestingly, the documentation that came with the card says that the card will function as chip and signature card when used internationally at a place with human clerks such as a hotel or restaurant. To use it as a chip-n-pin card overseas I must first use the card internationally as a signature card. After that the pin will work in automated devices like ticket machines and toll booths. Apparently, if the business has human operated card readers, it reverts to chip-and-signature.

I imagine this is some type of work around until we adopt real chip-n-pin processing domestically.
__________________
The worst decisions are usually made in times of anger and impatience.
Chuckanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 12:03 PM   #210
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 15,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckanut View Post
I just got a chip/pin/signature card. Interestingly, the documentation that came with the card says that the card will function as chip and signature card when used internationally at a place with human clerks such as a hotel or restaurant. To use it as a chip-n-pin card overseas I must first use the card internationally as a signature card. After that the pin will work in automated devices like ticket machines and toll booths. Apparently, if the business has human operated card readers, it reverts to chip-and-signature.

I imagine this is some type of work around until we adopt real chip-n-pin processing domestically.
That's an interesting caveat - that in must be used as a signature card overseas first, before trying to use it as a chip-n-pin card. Hmmm - that might be important for me.

It's so complicated!!!!!

I wish we could get the USAA true chip and pin card. My husband's 4 years service doesn't help, or does it?
__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 02:17 PM   #211
Moderator
Sarah in SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 13,425
I will say that DH is using our Chase Sapphire (no chip, no pin) in the UK and Europe with little hassle. Or at least that's what my (from home) review of his receipts from the pubs tells me!
__________________
“One day your life will flash before your eyes. Make sure it's worth watching.”
Gerard Arthur Way

Sarah in SC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 06:14 PM   #212
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Chuckanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West of the Mississippi
Posts: 6,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarah in SC View Post
Or at least that's what my (from home) review of his receipts from the pubs tells me!
Thanks for the warning.
__________________
The worst decisions are usually made in times of anger and impatience.
Chuckanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 09:17 PM   #213
Full time employment: Posting here.
GalaxyBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains
Posts: 781
As my old card is expiring, my new BoA BankAmericard came today and it's got a chip. Along with a 3% foreign transaction fee, unfortunately. I didn't ask for either. But perhaps some little progress is finally being made towards cards with chips in the USA.
__________________
GalaxyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 09:30 PM   #214
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Chuckanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West of the Mississippi
Posts: 6,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by GalaxyBoy View Post
As my old card is expiring, my new BoA BankAmericard came today and it's got a chip. Along with a 3% foreign transaction fee, unfortunately. I didn't ask for either. But perhaps some little progress is finally being made towards cards with chips in the USA.

Good point Galaxy. Some banks are offering the chipped card and tactfully avoiding mentioning their transaction fees.
__________________
The worst decisions are usually made in times of anger and impatience.
Chuckanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 11:40 AM   #215
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 508
I'm in Ireland now using a chase united airlines MasterCard with no chip and no issues. When I hand it to them I tell them that it needs to be "swiped" and they then understand. No foreign transaction fee with this card. One thing to watch out for is : don't let them charge you in dollars. They sometimes ask as a nicety but it's really not nice . They will give u a lousy exchange rate where the credit card company is very fair. Make sure the transaction is always in local currency.
__________________
bmcgonig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 04:15 PM   #216
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 15,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by GalaxyBoy View Post
As my old card is expiring, my new BoA BankAmericard came today and it's got a chip. Along with a 3% foreign transaction fee, unfortunately. I didn't ask for either. But perhaps some little progress is finally being made towards cards with chips in the USA.
Are you sure you didn't always have a 3% foreign transaction fee?

Switch to the Travel Rewards VISA if you want a chip card with no foreign transaction fee.
__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 11:30 PM   #217
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 421
I have been using Chase Marriott for the last 20 days in London, Moscow, and St. Petersburg. The card has a chip but it requires a signature, no fees. Strangely enough I was able to top off my Oyster card (Underground) on the machine without using pin or signature yesterday.



Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
__________________
Disappointed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 12:13 AM   #218
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 421
Forgot to mention that a few places including Harrods offered to charge in US $, I do not know if the exchange rate was competitive or not as I just told them to charge in local currency.


Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
__________________
Disappointed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 08:31 PM   #219
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 15,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disappointed View Post
Forgot to mention that a few places including Harrods offered to charge in US $, I do not know if the exchange rate was competitive or not as I just told them to charge in local currency.


Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
Best idea. Usually you get ripped off in such a scenario.

Best to have a zero transaction fee and tell them to charge in local currency.

I almost fell for this recently with Paypal. When I was invoiced from Amsterdam (for a B&B deposit) the invoice came up in US$, with a hefty fee for the conversion! I clicked on the button to switch it back to Euros - much better!
__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 08:36 PM   #220
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 15,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Disappointed View Post
I have been using Chase Marriott for the last 20 days in London, Moscow, and St. Petersburg. The card has a chip but it requires a signature, no fees. Strangely enough I was able to top off my Oyster card (Underground) on the machine without using pin or signature yesterday.



Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
Interesting! I may have to try this - no PIN, no signature - LOL!

Seems like if the charge were low enough they wouldn't bother. Just like in the US they don't require sigs for charges below $25.

But actually, in Europe I don't think they offer customers the same level of protection as here in the US in terms of being able to contest fraudulent transactions.
__________________

__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
moving chip to a newer phone modhatter Other topics 3 03-04-2012 05:14 PM
Do credit unions cancel credit cards because of inactivity? rec7 FIRE and Money 11 12-22-2008 04:21 PM
GM bankruptcy as auto bargaining chip? pedorrero FIRE and Money 1 11-22-2008 05:40 PM
PNY Memory Chip (camera) kaneohe Other topics 1 09-09-2008 06:50 PM
Credit Cards and Credit Matuski Other topics 21 08-14-2006 12:40 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:44 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.