Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

choosing a small business retirement plan
Old 02-12-2012, 07:46 AM   #1

choosing a small business retirement plan

Hello all! We have a good friend who has his own business (health care practice) and is interested in getting his retirement plan going. He would like to learn about his options to make an educated decision instead of just giving the reigns completely to his accountant. I offered to post here to pick your minds for information. I have no background with small business retirement planning (I have plenty with our own personal retirement planning), so he and I will be facing a steep learning curve on this topic...so please be patient and kind with your responses, especially if I ask a very obvious question!

He bought this practice I believe 3 or 4 years ago. His practice is thriving and growing. He is in his late 30's and does not have any personal retirement funds yet. He is married with 3 children.

He has 7 employees.

I've been reading about small business retirement plans, but honestly, my head is kind of swimming with trying to figure out what type of plan would be most advantageous for him to set up. We looked over what is offered at Vanguard, and we also looked at this tool (IRS Retirement Plans Navigator), but the decision of what type of plan to choose is still clear as mud to me. I looked at this table (IRS Retirement Plans Navigator) and here are my questions so far:

1) Payroll deduction IRA
- only allows $5000 in contributions. This doesn't seem like nearly enough $ to fund anyone's retirement over the years.

2) SEP