College Math is Fuzzy Math

60% of college grads these days are women. The real problem is where in the world is your smart, educated daughter going to find a man who is her intellectual equal. Preferably an electrician or plumber who can help her pay off that big student loan.

I knew a young teacher with a Master's Degree. Her husband is an electrician and out earns her by at least 50%. Even adjusting for her additional time off, he still out earns her by a significant amount.

Learning how to build and maintain things is a valuable skill. Show me a plumber and I'll show you a man or woman who makes a good living.

Don't look down on an electrician (or any skilled union craftsman.) My mother worked at the IBEW and my father ran electrician apprentice programs at our power company. Both my uncles were also IBEW electricians.

I went to college to be eligible for the student deferment during the Vietnam war, and graduated in 4 years. I was an okay student, however it's doubtful I would have rated a spot in an IBEW electrical apprenticeship. Their standards and their curriculum were much more difficult (for 6 years) than almost all college courses.

Definitely something I think about often for my kids sake, who are still years away from this decision. I feel like college has been pushed so hard, to the detriment of some, and the long term outcomes are sometimes questionable. We'll see what the future holds and what my kids think, but I certainly won't look down on them skipping 4yr college for community college, trade school, etc. We can certainly afford for them to go any school they wish (and we would pay for it) but money not spent on college can be saved and invested for their future, whether it be a downpayment, retirement, etc.

The military is looking for thirty-something married women with children?

My relative was in his mid-30s, married, with minor children & a working spouse when he took the Army's offer.