Coming of age as an investor

Onward

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I read an article yesterday that said the investment climate at the time you "come of age" as an investor has a disproportionately large influence on your lifelong investing outlook.

I checked it on myself. I started investing seriously in the mid-late 90s, and, sure enough, to this day I am incurably bullish on stocks, even after everthying that's happened since.

What about you?

I started investing in 2000. I tend to be more conservative (50/50 AA) than I probably should. However, I also come from a culture which favors safety over speculation.

Interestingly (to me anyway), I went all in on Wed Oct 21, 1987, two days after "Black Monday." That was my first foray into investing. I've always been moderately aggressive, all equity until my late-40's, now 65/30/5 FWIW...

I started investing on the late 80's.

As a novice, I had a Finacial Planner who hooked my IRA to a Market Timing model (according to them, no worry, they had a computerized model). No doubt I couldn't sleep well at nights and said bye-bye to this planner soon.

So that was my coming of age....to not believe in everything I read/hear...If I don't understand it, I have no idea investing in it and that index investing can be beautiful.

I started in the early '80s. Rather than when you start, maybe it is what you've been through. My experience is that after 1987, things recovered quickly. After 2000-2002, things recovered in a couple of years. After 2008, things recovered in a couple of years, too.

So I've been through two different 50% drops in big market averages without any damage. You can imagine what I think the next 50% drop will do to me.

I started investing in 1979, when I got my BS. Up until then it was just paper route proceeds into CDs.