Join Early Retirement Today

Cost Basis
Old 12-08-2012, 10:17 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Cost Basis

I have a 4000 dollar gain in my taxable account. I am in the 15% tax bracket and therefor I believe if I sell I will not be taxed on the gain. I don't need the money but I believe if I sell and buy back later I can increase my cost basis. I have instructed Vanguard to use the Average approach for cost basis. These shares are non covered. Does this mean I have to report these to the IRS? If so, how do I do so? How long do I have to wait to buy back these shares? I am relatively new to investing in taxable stock/bond accounts as I have 75% of my portfolio in tax deferred. Any insight from the distinguished panel?
ripper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-08-2012, 10:22 AM   #2