Join Early Retirement Today

County Assessed a Late Fee, but Never Sent Me a Tax Bill
Old 01-16-2020, 06:26 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

County Assessed a Late Fee, but Never Sent Me a Tax Bill

I am a new resident of Frederick County, Virginia as of October 8th (2019). The house I bought was a cash purchase, so there is no mortgage company involved or escrowing. Yesterday I received from the County a real estate overdue tax notice which included a 10% late fee and interest for a month (about $120 over the tax due amount) and threatened to take collection action.

I promptly called the County treasurer asked them for what period this reminder notice was for and noted I closed on the property in late September and that I never received a tax bill and asked her to explain the late fee. The clerk said a bill for July through December 2019 real estate taxes was sent to my address on October 31st and taxes were due Dec. 5th. I asked who the bill was addressed to. She checked and it was the previous owner! I then commented that I never saw the bill and most likely the post office forwarded it to the previous owner, who moved out of county.

I said I would promptly pay the taxes if the late fee was removed. She refused and said that even if I do not receive a bill, it is my responsibility to pay on time (to know when the due date is or find out if I am not sure) and any penalties and interest if paid late. Really? I thought the deed transfer would initiate a tax bill to reflect the current property owner. I was expecting to get a tax bill, so I never thought about it beyond that.

I first checked my HUD-1 and I was issued a credit for July through September taxes to cover the previous owner's share when I was billed for the second installment.

I then checked the Code of Virginia and found the following: