Join Early Retirement Today

Credit freeze adventures
Old 11-13-2017, 06:02 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...

Credit freeze adventures

Like many of you, the recent Equifax security breach was a catalyst for me to freeze my credit at the three primary agencies. My understanding was I would have to unlock my credit to open any new accounts but banks and other financial institutions I was currently doing business with would still have access to my credit information. IOW, they could access my credit information without me having to do an unlock. I found that to be incorrect.

Last week I applied online for a new credit card at USAA, a bank I've been doing business with for more than 40 years and where I have multiple accounts, credit cards, a HELOC, etc.

I was surprised to get a call from them the following day saying I needed to unlock my credit at Experian so they could obtain a credit report. I told them I was out of town and didn't have my pin numbers with me, I'd do it when we returned home on Monday. "Sorry," I was told, "we have to check your credit within three days of receiving the application. If we can't get access to your credit your application will be rejected." And it was.

Hopefully my 'learning experience' will benefit others.
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!