Current Thoughts on the Markets?

....I got out in late 2000 and back in, in April or 2003. Also, out in late 2007 and back in, in Summer 2008. .....

If you got back in during the summer of 2008, how did you feel about your decision in early 2009?

S&P 500 index was 1,267 on July 1, 2008 (summer of 2008) and 735 on Feb 1, 2009? a 42% decline.

Last edited:
I think the market will drop a lot, but then I've been expecting this for about 2 years.... thankfully I have kept my stock allocation maxed out.

Its quite possible it will generally be flat for years, instead of a drop, because everyone seems to jump in and buy when it goes down 5%.

I do have a reserve of cash, to buy some broad based etf's should prices tank, but its only about 2-4% of assets, so no big bet here.

In the meantime, I'm playing with a measly 10K, and when a stock drops I buy options (in IRA) and when the stock goes up $4 I sold the options.
Now I should have waited as the stock kept going up, so I could have made more than 16%.
Good news is the stock is headed down again, so I am hopeful I can repeat the exercise :)

Who me? Perhaps you didn't not get it. Nothing I did had any more luck involved with it that buy and hold.

Ha ha. Thanks for the tip, professor. Rim shot!

No, not talking to you, didn't even read your post. Maybe you're not the focal point of others thoughts.

Sent from my iPhone using Early Retirement Forum

I got out last week. still have a few stocks and mf's, but I don't like what I see in the earnings, forecasts, and overseas markets. This strong dollar doesn't look like it will weaken anytime soon, and my expectation is that the market will react even more negatively in the immediate future. dropping oil prices also concern me. I did have a fairly good run so far this year, but I am getting concerned about capital preservation.