Dangerous thinking when watching net worth

+1
I just look once a quarter to update the spreadsheet that I have been keeping for the past 20 years. When I see quarterly gains it doesn't tempt me to spend for some reason. I guess it feels like a long term gain and so doesn't impact my short term spending urges.

I would suggest that it is imprudent to only check your investments once every 90 days. What if someone improperly gained access to your account and stole your money? What if the entity holding the money in error, debited money from your account, or sent your money to someone else?

Yes, yes, yes. I understand that those things are uncommon, but they do happen.

For example, there is the recent thread regarding someone's friend not checking his bank statements for months and $35k vanishing from his account and much of it the bank need not replace because he didn't notify the bank within 60 days.

Personally, I check my investment accounts on a near daily basis. I don't dwell on how much it has gone up or gone down, but I do make sure it is all there and that there have been no unauthorized transactions.

Good point! I wonder if the brokerage is liable only for losses within 60 days, the same limit as for banks.

Some people advocate looking at investment accounts or 401k as infrequently as once every 6 months or a year, only to rebalance. What if you have nothing left to rebalance?

Last edited:
I thought about that in the 2000 crash - I said 'heck, a nice car does not depreciate as fast as my stocks just did!'

-ERD50
Back then, both my wife and I were not thinking about ER. I remember distinctly her lamenting to me that with the money lost, we could have upgraded to a nicer home. And as it further developed, the money lost from 2000 to 2002 could have bought us 2 more homes like the one we had, and still live in today. Maybe it was 3 more homes, as the housing bubble did not develop until after 2002.

Last edited: