denied disability insurance for being a teacher...and it is expensive too

dooo42

Recycles dryer sheets
i'm 36, in good health, married with one child so far and i teach high school science in a small, white, rural rhode island town. i got in touch with guardian life insurance about a disability quote and they told me that due to the duties of my job they didn't have a policy for me. i had to laugh....it's not like i'm a professional stunt man or pilot. unless they think little johnny is going to come in my room and shoot the place up it's just crazy... well anyway they referred me to another company that wants 1500 dollars a years for a good disability policy...that's nuts...am i that much of a risk:confused:?

Have you asked the school (or district) that you teach for about group disability insurance, or looked at TIAA-CREF or another teacher's union/group? That's where I'd start. Likely to have much lower premiums.

Good luck.

already got in touch with my school. we don't have disability at all.

already got in touch with my school. we don't have disability at all.
Just move out of that small white world to the big city, where schools will offer disability insurance and teachers will need it.

Ha

So, it might be time to start agitating for that type of coverage through work. However, in the interim, you might check out groups founded for teachers. For example:

https://www.horacemann.com/

Edited to add: I don't know anything about them other than the fact that a Google search of "teachers disability insurance" turned them up at the top of the page, so YMMV.

What are the duties for your job? I just looked at the underwriting guide and it says this:

Class: 5

Class 5 is the second best risk class.

i
got in touch with guardian life insurance about a disability quote and they told me that due to the duties of my job they didn't have a policy for me.