Detailed help pointer - creating a bond ladder

PointBreeze

Recycles dryer sheets
I understand the principles of a bond ladder, and would like to create one. However, I cannot figure out the logistics of creating one (I've been using Vanguard for most of my portfolio for almost two decades, but find the section on purchasing individual bonds super confusing). I find my confusion surprising, as I am a retired techie and voracious inhaler of financial information, and generally learn these things quickly.

I read the recent thread re: Schwab/Fidelity/Vanguard, and am thinking I should move some of my assets to Schwab for the improved usability and local office.

Until I do that, however, can someone point me to step-by-step instructions? Again, I don't need help with what a bond ladder is, or why it's a good idea. I need detailed help figuring out which bonds and then how to actually acquire them.

Thank you!

While I haven't done it, I think that Vanguard's bond desk will be able to help you... you'll need to call them.

A CD ladder might be easier and provide similar returns with no credit risk because of FDIC insurance.

I understand the principles of a bond ladder, and would like to create one. However, I cannot figure out the logistics of creating one (I've been using Vanguard for most of my portfolio for almost two decades, but find the section on purchasing individual bonds super confusing). I find my confusion surprising, as I am a retired techie and voracious inhaler of financial information, and generally learn these things quickly.

I read the recent thread re: Schwab/Fidelity/Vanguard, and am thinking I should move some of my assets to Schwab for the improved usability and local office.

Until I do that, however, can someone point me to step-by-step instructions? Again, I don't need help with what a bond ladder is, or why it's a good idea. I need detailed help figuring out which bonds and then how to actually acquire them.

Thank you!