Dividend Payment Date Issue ?

ownyourfuture

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I went to my brokerage account Saturday morning & noticed that my dividend from kraft/heinz had been reinvested Friday.
I don't normally check those transactions for accuracy, but the purchase price seemed high. So I looked at the stock data from Friday & I was correct.
The data from my broker, NASDAQ, & Yahoo all showed the same daily low of $59.95 & high of $61.6569 (Yahoo rounded up to $61.66)

How did I pay $62.1382 ?
I thought that maybe the payment date isn't actually the day the shares are purchased, but I researched, & that seems to be the case.

Here’s a link to a screen capture, & below that, the rest of the dividend info.

Ex/Eff Date: 3/8/2018
Type: Cash
Cash Amount: 0.625
Declaration Date: 2/16/2018
Record Date: 3/9/2019
Payment Date: 3/23/2018

Last edited:
I'm no expert on this but my understanding is the share price used is based on the date the dividend was declared which will likely be earlier then the date it was paid out to shareholders.

I'm no expert on this but my understanding is the share price used is based on the date the dividend was declared which will likely be earlier then the date it was paid out to shareholders.

Thanks for the reply zinger, but that doesn't seem to add up.
The declaration date was February 16, & that days open/high/low/close was 69.94 71.25 67.65 70.80

Interestingly the screen capture in the OP shows math that isn't right: shares times price should equal the amount, but it doesn't..