Join Early Retirement Today

Doing your own taxes
Old 01-26-2008, 07:35 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Doing your own taxes

I am 46, and although I'm an excellent bookkeeper, I have always had someone else do my taxes (probably because my father always had someone do his taxes). My returns are fairly simple. I'm single, and in addition to my job, most of my income is from stocls and mutual funds. And no mortgage. I've been thinking that with since I'm already filling out all my information for my tax preparer, wouldn't is just be easier and cheaper if I just do my own taxes? But I always worry that if I do it myself, I may miss some tax break.
How many of you do your own taxes? Do you consider it to be worth paying someone to prepare your taxes?
David1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-26-2008, 07:47 AM   #2
Full time employment: Posting here.