Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Downgrading from Chase Sapphire Reserve
Old 01-03-2018, 11:50 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Downgrading from Chase Sapphire Reserve

I downgraded from the Sapphire Reserve card (450 annual fee) to Chase Freedom (no annual fee) both to avoid the fee, and to preserve points. The following may be of interest:

1. The points stop being worth 1.5% for travel. This is OK; there weren't that many points left. And I have a Citi Master Card that gives 3% for travel, with only a $95 annual fee.

2. I had to give back the second year's $300 travel reward, that I had just received.

3. I lose the Priority Pass benefit. We never used it during the year we had the Sapphire Reserve card.

Now to close out Mr. A.'s Sapphire Reserve (he already has a Chase Freedom card, so we will just ask them to transfer the points).
Amethyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-03-2018, 12:39 PM   #2