Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Downsizing MegaCorp to social service
Old 12-06-2007, 06:59 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Downsizing MegaCorp to social service

Maybe my dilema sounds familiar to some?

At the Megacorps that I have been working at for the past 20+ years they have adopted catch phrases that temper the act of terminating employees like "down sizing", "right sizing", "realigning", "reorganizing", etc.....

I've managed to survive many of these reductions and terminations and essentially remained at the same desk while the company name that I work for changes on what seems like a continuous basis.

In a strange way, this termoil is what availed me to a desire to seek an alternative way of living (at least alternative from the perspective of most of my coworkers) and utimately the goal of reducing my work time and hopefully retiring early.

My early retirement will take the form of reduced hours and hopefully more personally satisfying work that is closer to home. I don't have the money to outright retire at 49 but a career change is definately a possibility.

As this change approaches and I seriously look at opportunities closer to home, away from Megacorp, I can now see just how scarey this decision is. As I interview for positions that involve reductions in salary from what I am accustomed to, some 50% - 70% less than I make now, pulling the trigger will be difficult simply due to the financial risk involved. What if I can't make it? What if this is a mistake?

I've found at least one opportunity last Spring that I resisted "pulling the trigger on" simply due to my lack of confidence that I can make it work. I doubted myself and questioned whether I am "just burned out" or maybe over reacting to life at Megacorp.

Now, another opportunity is on the horizon this Spring and I hope to be able to apply.