Join Early Retirement Today

Favorite Senior Discounts?
Old 07-16-2014, 03:14 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Favorite Senior Discounts?

I realize not many here are seniors (in your own mind), but there might be some establishments that think so. As I am nearing 55 (November 2014), I always look for ways to save money, especially ones over and above any sales and rebates.

Some places openly advertise senior rebates. Some start at 55, some at 60. I know there are a lot of unadvertised senior discounts out there.

All these discounts add up and make life easier. Here are a few of my favorite ones, just for being me. They are not all senior discounts, but I am looking to add more to my list.

I am a disabled veteran, so I get 10% off at Home Depot and Lowes.

Free dinner at Applebee’s on Veteran’s Day.

Lots of AARP discounts, especially on travel related items. I just booked a hotel on Marco Island and saved a bunch with that discount.

I even get a 15% discount off the total bill at Outback Steak House for AARP, no matter what day it is.

What are some of your most used senior discounts (or other discounts) when going about your day to day routine?
FIRE no later than 7/5/2016 at 56 (done), securing '16 401K match (done), getting '15 401K match (done), LTI Bonus (done), Perf bonus (done), maxing out 401K (done), picking up 1,000 hours to get another year of pension (done), July 1st benefits (vacation day, healthcare) (done), July 4th holiday. 0 days left. (done) OFFICIALLY RETIRED 7/5/2016!!
Senator is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!