FI verus RE - a Poll

How long a gap between FInancial independence and REtiring early?

• 1 microsecond or less

Votes: 24 17.3%
  • 6 months or less

Votes: 20 14.4%
  • 6 - 12 months

Votes: 12 8.6%
  • 1 to 2 years

Votes: 20 14.4%
  • More than 2 years

Votes: 34 24.5%
  • Still not RE, though I am FI

Votes: 29 20.9%

• Total voters
I'll bet you could bale tomorrow too if you weren't emotionally tied to the work. Right?

Probably not quite at that point, but getting there. I don't think I'm ready to be totally retired or totally separated from the profession I've been practicing and enjoying for 33 years.

A flexible part-time scenario would be nice, earning just enough to live off of - no more retirement savings, downsize the house, upsize the RV for example ;).

This is kind of a fun pre-retirement state of mind to be in for the time being, especially with a little more time to visit family and less night and weekend call starting in July (that's a killer at my stage).

It was about three or four years for me. I'd reached the "normal" retirement time - 25 years and age 48 - but was enjoying the work so much as I was in one of those rare positions that "Wow, I can't believe they're actually paying me to do this!" We had zero debt and at the time were saving about 45% of gross income.

But the bureaucracy made it hard to keep up with training and equipment/software requirements, the traffic was driving me nuts - when you work in law enforcement shooting someone over road rage is generally considered a bad career move - and when I looked at the retirement numbers I saw that if I retired my take-home pay would go up. So I was working there why? Ditto DW, who was doing financial accounting stuff for bioterrorism research and working 10-12 hr. days six or seven days a week, neck and back pain constant, collapse on the couch when she got home and all that.

So we got out of the rat race and moved to West Virginia.