Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
fidelity full view and vanguard
Old 12-08-2016, 04:31 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,466
fidelity full view and vanguard

anyone else having trouble getting full view to update vanguard the last week or so ?
__________________

mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-08-2016, 04:44 AM   #2
Full time employment: Posting here.
FIREmenow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathjak107 View Post
anyone else having trouble getting full view to update vanguard the last week or so ?
Yes, same here. Waiting.....
__________________

__________________
Believe me, my young friend, there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats.” ― Kenneth Grahame, The Wind in the Willows
FIREmenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 05:34 AM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
DrRoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,868
+1
__________________
"The mountains are calling, and I must go." John Muir
DrRoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 06:20 AM   #4
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austin
Posts: 781
I've had issues with all of my non-fido accounts on full view at one time or another. Often it's just waiting. Other times, if I go back in and re-enter the password, it resolves itself.
big-papa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 10:18 AM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,311
I complained about the Full View to my Fido rep and he wasn't particularly complimentary of it. I do use it to get the total nw occasionally but the three accounts outside Fido are either manually edited by me or don't move that much that a manual insert of the password is that much of a pain.
H2ODude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 10:50 AM   #6
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 796
I do not use Fidelity Full View but I believe it uses the same platform as Yodlee. On Yodlee, some pages update and others do not. I have told them about it but nothing changes.

This inconsistent handling of the data does not raise my confidence about accuracy and security. So far Personal Capital, which I am testing, seems to be working well. Much better for account information. Slightly weaker for tracking expenses.
davef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 12:15 PM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
Happyras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Redmond
Posts: 276
I had to play with it several times this morning and finally got all VG accounts to update. It takes a few minutes to for the update to show in the regular portfolio view. However it is much better for us, where I can see all of our Fido and VG accounts. VG doesn't show all the external accounts and prohibits viewing of non-joint accounts unless they have a notarized agent agreement. Thus, Fido is my one stop shop for viewing all of our banks and investment accounts and doing an analysis in one place.

BTW, I had to re-enter credentials a few times to get it fixed. It seems to somehow not take the password correctly or the security question changes.
Happyras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 12:17 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Dawg52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central MS/Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 8,387
The only non-Fidelity acct I have is at PenFed and it updates that fine.
__________________
Retired 3/31/2007@52
Investing style: Full time wuss.
Dawg52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 04:39 AM   #9
Full time employment: Posting here.
FIREmenow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 755
Seems to be working again for me now....
__________________
Believe me, my young friend, there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats.” ― Kenneth Grahame, The Wind in the Willows
FIREmenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 04:04 AM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,466
same here , it is working now
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 01:27 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,466
I spoke to soon , out again
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 03:44 AM   #12
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,466
been quite a while and still not working for me .
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 06:30 AM   #13
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Austin
Posts: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathjak107 View Post
been quite a while and still not working for me .
Go into full view and look at account summary. On the line with your Vanguard account, click settings. A window will pop up. Just under "account nickname" click "edit Credentials". A new window will pop up with your Vanguard account ID and password. Mine was still filled out from when I put this account in full view and all I had to do was click update. That did the trick. I have to do that from time to time with other accounts as well.
big-papa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 07:41 AM   #14
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,466
still showing error
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 11:03 AM   #15
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 561
On a similar note:
I always wondered comparing retirement calculator results FIDO vs VG.

VG Financial Engines constantly show ~5% off portfolio and FIDO actually shows low end ~3%

Anybody noticed this?
__________________
“The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubt, while the stupid people are full of confidence.”

(—Charles Bukowski)
wanaberetiree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2016, 02:08 PM   #16
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 126
Full View has great potential but is very finicky, in my experience, so I don't look at it that often.
__________________
FIREd 2012 at Age 49
523HRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 10:44 AM   #17
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanaberetiree View Post
On a similar note:
I always wondered comparing retirement calculator results FIDO vs VG.

VG Financial Engines constantly show ~5% off portfolio and FIDO actually shows low end ~3%

Anybody noticed this?
fidelity is a bit tougher. it inflates healthcare costs at 5.50% and long term care costs the same. it used to inflate healthcare by 7.50% but it has come down .

fidelity also goes for a 90% success rate based on monte carlo simulations and not historical .

fidelity uses a variable inflation rate too based on a few different parameters . .
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 12:03 PM   #18
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,466
fidelity said they finally found the issue . if you use the new experimental view at vanguard it will not work with full view . you have to go back to the original view . just tried it and it works
mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 04:28 PM   #19
Recycles dryer sheets
Lagniappe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathjak107 View Post
fidelity said they finally found the issue . if you use the new experimental view at vanguard it will not work with full view . you have to go back to the original view . just tried it and it works
How do you switch back to the old view?
Lagniappe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 06:02 PM   #20
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5,466
in vanguard there was a prompt at the top left that said switch back to old view
__________________

mathjak107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PORTAL VIEW and NEW POSTS VIEW not in sync? ERD50 Forum Admin 5 03-08-2015 10:28 PM
Anyone using Fidelity's "Full View" service? justin FIRE and Money 23 07-15-2013 10:38 AM
All Vanguard or Vanguard AND Fidelity? bizlady FIRE and Money 50 06-25-2011 06:08 PM
Vanguard Consolidated View sarahsays FIRE and Money 15 04-10-2008 12:16 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×