Figuring tax liability

twolfy

Recycles dryer sheets
Taxes have never been a strong suit for me. I now live on disability payment from my work ( its taxable income because I never had to pay into the plan) i also now receive Social Security Disability payments and my DW still works. I've received tax vouchers from both federal and state for me to make estimated payments. I have never done this before and confused as to how to determine what needs to be done. Just did my taxes for last year on Turbo Tax and the program suggested I make quarterly payments and i had a small penalty on my state return for under payment of taxes. Federal was fine as I had a refund but I would like to have it closer to Zero. My income is high enough that 85% of my SS is federally taxable. No state tax on SS. I have 25% taken out of my work disabilty payments. For the seven months last year that I received SS, no taxes were taken out. This was ignorance on my part. I have that corrected now and have started having 15% taken out. I realize that I need to better understand my yearly deductions and approx how much investment income I will have coming in from my taxable accounts. This income stream (work and SS disability income) is enough now that we shouldn't have to touch our pre tax money until we hit 65. My DW will be retiring early at the end of May. What is some of the best reading to learn how to figure out how to have the correct amounts either taken out of our current income streams or making quarterly payments. I've been googling and reading some but need something geared more for the real novice here. Hope I have been clear here. Really difficult sometimes to ask for help when you are not sure what or how to really ask.
Thanks for any suggestions.
Tom

I think the problem is not how much you are having taken out of your payments, but it seems your spouse is not having enough taken out of her paychecks. I am assuming you file married-filing-jointly (MFJ).