Finally trying Quicken (2013)

W2R

Moderator Emeritus
In ordering TurboTax on Amazon, I noticed that I could get a considerable discount on Quicken 2013 if I ordered it at the same time. So, I did. I selected the $30.00 off promotion code for Quicken Starter Edition 2013, so that brought the price down from $39.95 to $9.95.

Probably most of you already knew about this discount, but for those who didn't, well, there it is. Don't buy it if you already have Quicken, because the Starter Edition will not import old Quicken files. Use the other promotion code for one of the more expensive versions.

I have never tried Quicken before, and have always done everything in Excel. Being somewhat rigid in my ways, I expect to remain skeptical about Quicken. But even though I do not expect to like it, $9.95 is cheap enough to make it worth investigating.

(Besides, I am a little nerdy in that I like playing with new software - - - shh!) :D

Been using Quicken for 7-8yrs. Generally OK, but every so often stuff just disappears or internal links between data gets corrupted. Like stock cost basis changes without your input, or account balances drop to zero. Frustrating sometimes. Still find it useful for tracking household finances but I would never trust its figures to face an IRS audit.

Been using Quicken for 7-8yrs. Generally OK, but every so often stuff just disappears or internal links between data gets corrupted. Like stock cost basis changes without your input, or account balances drop to zero. Frustrating sometimes. Still find it useful for tracking household finances but I would never trust its figures to face an IRS audit.

I am mostly interested in tracking household finances with it, so it might work out for me. It will be interesting to see what it offers.

I am mostly interested in tracking household finances with it, so it might work out for me. It will be interesting to see what it offers.