Join Early Retirement Today

Financial Advice for Friends and Family - How to handle it?
Old 03-18-2007, 09:00 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Financial Advice for Friends and Family - How to handle it?

Like a number of people on this board I am familiar with finance. I have a BSEE and an MBA, plus most of my career has been spent working in the Financial Services Industry (mainly in Information technology). I also did a 3 year stint in the Corporate Finance dept as part of a Management training program a number of years ago. I have read extensively over 20 years (i.e., the deeper stuff).

The point of this post. I sometimes get questions from friends and family regarding investment advice. I typically will not tell someone specifics about what they should do. I tend to describe what i am doing and approach it in general terms and encourage them to read and learn. I have alway been concerned that if the person misunderstood my advice or somehow things did not work out to their satisfaction, I might ruin a family relationship or firendship.

How do you handle these situations?

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!