Financial Advice for Friends and Family - How to handle it?

chinaco

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Like a number of people on this board I am familiar with finance. I have a BSEE and an MBA, plus most of my career has been spent working in the Financial Services Industry (mainly in Information technology). I also did a 3 year stint in the Corporate Finance dept as part of a Management training program a number of years ago. I have read extensively over 20 years (i.e., the deeper stuff).

The point of this post. I sometimes get questions from friends and family regarding investment advice. I typically will not tell someone specifics about what they should do. I tend to describe what i am doing and approach it in general terms and encourage them to read and learn. I have alway been concerned that if the person misunderstood my advice or somehow things did not work out to their satisfaction, I might ruin a family relationship or firendship.

How do you handle these situations?

chinaco said:
Like a number of people on this board I am familiar with finance. I have a BSEE and an MBA, plus most of my career has been spent working in the Financial Services Industry (mainly in Information technology). I also did a 3 year stint in the Corporate Finance dept as part of a Management training program a number of years ago. I have read extensively over 20 years (i.e., the deeper stuff).

The point of this post. I sometimes get questions from friends and family regarding investment advice. I typically will not tell someone specifics about what they should do. I tend to describe what i am doing and approach it in general terms and encourage them to read and learn. I have alway been concerned that if the person misunderstood my advice or somehow things did not work out to their satisfaction, I might ruin a family relationship or firendship.