Join Early Retirement Today

FIRE Plan, which port?
Old 11-11-2014, 08:29 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

FIRE Plan, which port?

I just finished reading Work Less, Live More which left me with a revitalized interest and desire for FIRE. I immediately started playing around with spreadsheets and have devised a strategy and two possible portfolios.

Background:

State: FL

I'm employed as a pharmacist and live well below my means. I've been working for about 16 months. In that time, I've managed to go from a networth of -$50k (student loans) to +$45k. I live on about 25% of my salary, another 25% or so to taxes, which has let me save/invest/pay off loans with the remaining 50%. I enjoy what I would call a very comfortable living situation (no interest in lifestyle-creep) and have no plans to increase my spending significantly in the near future. I will have my student loans paid off within 8 months. I do not plan on owning a home in the near future.

Current Assets:

$32k in traditional 401k (25% S&P500, Int Large, Small Cap, Bond)
$12k in Roth IRA (REIT)
$11k ESPP
$13k cash
$20k approximate car value

Current Liabilities:

$30k student loans @6.55%
$13k car note 2.5%

No credit card debt/mortgage

Strategy/Plan:

I would like to continue to work full time until age 35, at which point I would like to have a child or two, and drop down to 24hrs/week (which would still let me keep benefits). During these 10 years, I would continue to invest north of $50k/year (including employee match). From 35-55 I would work my 24hrs, and hopefully still manage to max out 401k/IRA (taxable account contributions would stop, only yearly rebalancing). At 55 I would fully retire. Below are two proposed investment strategies. I've used Rick Ferri's 30 year projections for real returns.

Portfolio #1 (conservative 4 fund):

30% Total US (VTSAX) - taxable
30% Total Int (VTIAX) - taxable
10% US REIT (VGSLX) - IRA
30% Total Bond (LAG) - 401k

Estimated yearly real return: 4.2%