FIRECALC : Spreadsheet edition

navydavey

Dryer sheet aficionado
Hey all,

So I've been working on my spreadsheet for the past four years and its really starting to bloom into something nice. However, I would like to have a FIRECALC-like sheet where I can enter variables like rate of return, monthly investments, social security payments, etc and have it yield an age at which I should achieve retirement success (probably defined as a >= $0 remaining balance).

I'll be deployed for a while plus I just like spreadsheets so that is why this would be valuable for me.

Does anyone know if such a thing already exists and/or would someone be willing to contribute to it? Thanks in advance!

Check this thread for a ref to simba's spreadsheet. I have not played with it, so I don't know if it is what you are looking for or not.

http://www.early-retirement.org/for...al-data-back-to-1977-a-78452.html#post1626499

Although I think there is near zero value to 'enter variables like rate of return'. These things vary over time. The historical calculators like FireCALC do a much better job of showing the effect of this. Any 'rate of return' you enter will be wrong.

-ERD50

Check this thread for a ref to simba's spreadsheet. I have not played with it, so I don't know if it is what you are looking for or not.

http://www.early-retirement.org/for...al-data-back-to-1977-a-78452.html#post1626499

Although I think there is near zero value to 'enter variables like rate of return'. These things vary over time. The historical calculators like FireCALC do a much better job of showing the effect of this. Any 'rate of return' you enter will be wrong.

-ERD50

I followed that string for a bit an couldn't find the excel sheet. Is there another link, or do you have it and could share?

I followed that string for a bit an couldn't find the excel sheet. Is there another link, or do you have it and could share?

No, sorry, I just remembered seeing that reference recently - that's all I got.

-ERD50